We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, needed aplace to stay prefer more highbrow accomodation but perfectly acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 E. Elm St., Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not bad, needed aplace to stay prefer more highbrow accomodation but perfectly acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The man who checked us in was very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean (mattress clean too, I checked!) the carpet was dirty, they need to change it, badly. We were desperate for a place for the night so we took this room. In all fairness, it was clean enough , there was a fridge, A/C, a television, and breakfast included, free wi-fi and a computer at reception. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. There is even a small pool on the sight. Reasonable value to grateful people who needed a bed for the night.

Room Tip: They do have smoking rooms so make sure you choose no smoking. Overall I thought it was going to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    12
    2
    16
See reviews for
5
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gent
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I've been in touch with the official Rodeway Inn customer center. They were very helpful and it turned out that the hotel in Bishop no longer has the right to use the Rodeway Inn name. That's why they use blank soap packaging instead of official Rodeway Inn soaps, they state ROADway on their blocknotes but still use Rodeway for Credit card tickets (how misleading is that), ... That's why their quality is sooo bad. Do me a favor and don't stay there. It's bad enough we had to experience it. I don't want anybody else have to experience this bad hotel quality for such a high rate (esp. during weekend time.)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

the stairs up to the second floor look straght out of a Chicago Public Housing Project. The shredding astroturf is a stylish touch. Here's the kicker: When I checked into this room2 hours ago it was HOT inside. I mean like 120 degrees hot -- so hot all the surfaces were warm -- the bed, mattress, tables, walls, counters, everything. It was like getting into a car that had been left out in the summer sun in Phoenix. I immediately put the A/C on full blast and it's still uncomfortably warm.

Rodeway Inn says they give you free local calls and some sort of lame breakfast, but this place does not even have a clock in the room

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

On our way from Yosemite to Death Valley, which was - unluckily - on a Saturday we were "obliged" to stay in this hotel since all of the hotels in Bishop were full, including all of the other cities like Independance and Lone Pine as well. So we didn't really have a choice. The reception looked ok at first sight, but as soon as we came into the room, we realised this hotel was only worth 20 USD/night, not 120 USD/night (which is what they charged us, tax not included - even after complaining about cigarette holes in our blankets - in a NON smoking room, the man at the reception still said that this was his price).
If I can give you just one advise: If you're in the ability to avoid it, DO NOT STAY THERE! The rooms are smelly, not properly cleaned, the floor makes weird noises when you walk on it, the beds are filthly, the stairway is almost broken, breakfast isn't what I would call breakfast and the man at the reception is impolite. Of all the trips I've made to the US, this is definitely the second worst hotel I've been in, the only room that was worse, was a motel room in LA (not belonging to a hotel chain) which turned out to be a dating place for prostitutes (they only charged me 20 USD however so from that point of view, Rodeway IS the worst)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I needed a place to stay on a Friday night and this was the only place with a room. We were charged $120.00 for this dilapidated shack of a place. Everything was falling apart and it was smelly and dirty. Even the stairway was blocked by overgrown shrubs. In a word....ICK!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Located just off the main road (which isn't that busy) in a quiet spot but within easy walking distance of bars, shops and restuarants.

The room was full of amenities including fridge, microwave, tea/coffee facilities and aircon. Staff were really nice, friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was also pretty good with a array of donuts, cereal and fruit. There is also a computer with free internet available in the reception.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

The hotel covers basic needs for a reasonable price - such as: Breakfast, outdoor pool, iron and iron board, refrigiator (in some rooms), remote control 27" TV (cable), fax, heat lamp, aircon, clock radio, ice machine, geniune non-smoking rooms (good!!) and free local calls. The service at the desk is great no matter what time of day it is. We arrived around midnight and felt welcomed at the first second. As we left the next day this was no exception. By accident, we left our car keys in the car, and the hotel was very kind to help us out: Providing interstate calls, coffee and a very pleasant atmosphere. The reason why this hotel gets 5 out of 5 stars is the service and kindness AND provides the quality-rooms you'd expect for the price (which btw is reasonable).

  • Liked — Service, friendlyness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 150 E. Elm St., Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Bishop
Rodeway Inn Bishop
Bishop Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.