We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A creekside balcony, ducks and pastry from Schatts bakery.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Creekside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop Creekside Inn to your Saves list
Bishop Creekside Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   725 N Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2427   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Bishop Creekside Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence 2014
orange county
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A creekside balcony, ducks and pastry from Schatts bakery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've been trying to get back up to the wonderful town of Bishop for a couple of years now, so when I was making plans for our trip to Lone Pine I decided to see if I could reserve a creekside room at the Creekside Inn, our favorite hotel in Bishop. I was in luck, they could get me the room I requested. I arrived in town several hours before check in time and front desk agent Shanarra was nice enough to put a rush on our room and call me on my cell when it was ready, great customer service. The room was as I had remembered it, large,with awsome decor and that great creekside balcony with ducks swimming past and a view of the distant mountains. We picked up a box of sweets next door at Schatts bakery and relaxed on the balcony. The only problem I had with our room came at bedtime. As I hopped onto the large bed, I found myself sinking so far in, I felt I would surely disappear. It was so super soft I could envision previous guests stuck deep inside waiting to be rescued. After tossing and turning for an hour we finally got up and removed a pillow top cover that had been placed on top of a pillow top mattress. This was definately pillow top "overkill" and a danger to hobbitt size people like myself. The next morning I mentioned this to the front desk and was told the creekside rooms have the new" top of the line" super soft mattresses while the other side has the older, firmer style mattresses. Keep this in mind if you obsess over mattresses. We had a great stay at the Creekside, the room was spotlessly clean and everything was perfect. Thank you Creekside, we will be back.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a creekside room, it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    226
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
192
306
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were not sure what to expect when we booked this hotel. We did it to break up the driving for our kids whilst we were here on holidays. The staff were extremley helpful and polite and accommodated our request for a ground floor room - we had a lot of luggage. Whilst some of the decor is a little dated the room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Donna H,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that the staff was able to help you with all your needs and fulfilling the request you asked for regarding a first floor room. We will tell housekeeping of your comments as they are always excited about good reviews. We do hope you stay with us again when you are in the Bishop area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Bishop was a really pleasant town to stop by. We had a couple of beers in Rusties and found the locals interested in our trip and full of advice.
The hotel room was spacious and clean and though on the ground floor we had a little view of the mountains.
Breakast was buffet stlye in a busy room but there was a great variety of food and the staff were pleasant too
We'd happily pop back to Bishop, its a really lovely little town

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands california
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay except for the zombie-like front desk "service" upon check in. The room was nicely appointed and spacious. The morning breakfast was tasty and generous. Relaxing outdoors creekside in rocking chairs was a nice touch. We really enjoyed the place. Ironically, the front desk was well staffed with three people when we arrived, The problem was that two of the three stood around ignoring the people in the check in line while the one worked. Kind of reminds me of Cal Trans with six guys staring at the one guy with a shovel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello jwwcpa,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay using some of our best amenities including the nice seating by the creekside. What a great place to relax and unwind after a long drive or a tiring day of walking around Bishop. I apologize for the way you were treated when you checked in. We always pride ourselves in acknowledging every guest that comes in and if we are busy we apologize for the delay. That is something we will strive to focus on everyday. We do hope that you come back and visit the great area of Bishop again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We always stay here on our way to or from Las Vegas. The rooms are immaculate and the staff is very pleasant. They have a nice hot breakfast bar with a lot of choices. Love to go to the bakery next door too.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are quiet, just a really nice place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello CruiseCC,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate that you come back time after time to a nice clean room and friendly staff. We strive to be as consistant as possible to make sure each guest has a nice experience. It doesn't hurt that we are next to the bakery and easy walking distance to several restaurants. We appreciate your continued business and hope to see you again sooner rather then later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Upscale motel with prices to match ($149 to $159 for a standard room in late September.) Spotless large rooms with all the amenities you need, but no character. The "mountain view" rooms face the parking lot (so much for mountains), and the "creek side view" rooms face a trickle of water that has been manicured to death. The "hot breakfast" is OK but does not deserve the praises given by many reviewers. The lobby staff is very uneven (in the afternoon, one useless man kept chatting and ignoring customers, while a woman was doing all the work.) This motel is a better value for a family of four because the cost is the same as for a couple.
The town of Bishop itself suffers from a rash of enormous trucks that drive through it at all times of day and night, but it has a good bakery (Bakkery next door to the Creekside Inn), some good restaurants (we liked both Whiskey Creek, a couple blocks away, and Astorga's Mexican restaurant, in the reservation side). But remember: in Bishop, it's not the town that matters, its the natural beauty around it. On this point, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. Avoid the ones facing the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello 123Avila,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to hear you had a nice clean room. We will let housekeeping know of your comments as they love to share them with the entire staff. Unfortunately due to the dry winter last year the creek is not as high as previous years. We try hard to keep the grounds fresh and manicured thoughout the year as we look to provide a good first impression when visiting our hotel. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again when your travels let you head towards this direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here many times, usingy AAA card rate. In Sept this was $116 for a "mountain view" (meaning parking lot) double queen room. 4 days later I stayed in a "creek side" room and the rate was $150! That was also with my AAA card. The room was exactly the same but the glass door opened to a patio next to the creek. Second floor rooms had balconies. Absolutely not with the extra money but nothing else was available.
I recommend the hotel for sure but the extra for a creek side is exorbitant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Bishop Creekside Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello bdkLosAngeles,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you had a nice clean room and will pass on your comments to our housekeeping staff. They love to hear positive comments on a job well done. Our location is key to our success and that includes the creek side. Our rates are based on supply and demand. We feel that the creekside is a wonderful choice and the value of the scenery and not being on the parking lot side has its advantages. We do hope to see you again as we appreciate your business and loyality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Creekside Inn

Address: 725 N Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop Creekside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel Bishop
Best Western Creekside Hotel
Best Western Bishop
Bishop Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Creekside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.