We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice proprietors” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Bishop to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice proprietors”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Older place, adequate for a night but lousy internet. Staff most helpful, but no internet. Discovered that lots of motels say they have internet but their systems are so cheap that saying they have internet is stretching the truth. Cheap systems produce disappointing results.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs require you to take stairs. The stairway has carpeting that is worn through and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    20
    8
    12
See reviews for
8
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

At first glance the motel was okay. Not the cheapest but certainly more reasonable than other places and you get what you pay for, right? The bed was comfy which is the most important factor. The bathroom appeared un-finished and had spots of mold growing here and there. But the hot water worked, it was strong and consistent, and the drain worked. The problem came the next morning when we discovered that the lock on the front door didn't actually work! We had always used our card and assumed it was working but came to find out we could open the door without the card! When confronting management about the issue they were very rude and kept insisting it was up to us to tell them about it and they would "fix' it. We told them that wasn't the point. We had gone out the previous evening leaving behind our computers in a room we assumed was locked when actually it wasn't. Their basic attitude was that it was our fault for not telling them sooner! How is it our fault that the door won't lock! These people are not to be trusted! Stay away!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that a maintenance issue detracted from your stay. That problem with the lock impacted only one room, was due to a broken mechanism and has been fixed. I’m pleased that it did not cause you any issues. Thanks for noticing that we provide comfortable beds and a great value. I hope you won’t let this maintenance issue keep you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We arrived on June 9th. We left on Wed at 6:15am to go fishing. When we got back to the room at 2:30 pm they were fixing the bathtub with a smelly epoxy. They said that the smell would go away in 4 hours. It was hot in Bishop on this day. Temp was 90+. We wanted to rest but the smell was so bad that we had to move rooms. They didn't offer a discount for the inconvience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that an emergency repair was necessary during your stay, but I’m pleased we could fix it so quickly. Epoxy can cause a smell for several hours, and I’m also pleased that we were able to completely resolve the issue for you by moving you to another room, solving the problem. It’s great that we had the space to do that for you. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here on the way throught. Homey rooms, with frilly curtain type touches. Clerk was helpful, and the bed was excellent. Good amenities in the room, and it was clean. Good value for the price, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I needed to review this dive in the hope you won't have to experience this horrible place.Beyond noisy; a/c loud, floors squeak, heard all voices in accompanying rooms. Old beds and linens, poor cable t.v./ WiFi. Truly no value!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. I’m sorry that we failed to exceed your expectations. Most guests are completely satisfied, but we use all comments in our continual improvement efforts. I again apologize that we did not meet your requirements and hope you will give us another chance when you’re in the area again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

After road tripping California for two weeks this was a lousy way to end the trip. No hot water & no AC. Owner offered a $10 discount on the room after we already took cold showers. She would not refund money and offered us a different room. We've stayed at several America's Best Value Inn's before but this franchisee clearly leaves something to be desired.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that there was a maintenance issue with your room, and I’m pleased to hear that we were able to resolve this for you by moving you to another room, meaning that no refund was necessary and you were able to complete your stay. The discount was by way of an apology for your minor inconvenience. We satisfy most guests, and I’m terribly sorry that our efforts did not satisfy you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Undergoing upgrading construction at present of an older motel. Notwithstanding that we spent
three quiet, restful weekend nights here. Yes, it did show its wear, but will be upgraded soon.
Manager and wife were very helpful. Quiet, off the main street location but yet close enough to
walk to restaurants. We look for secure, quiet, clean and reasonably priced rooms and this
motel fits the bill.

Room Tip: Upstairs, in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments. We are indeed making changes to the property to make it an even nicer experience for guests like you. I’m glad you were satisfied with our great location and clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. That experience will only improve as we complete our renovations. Thanks again for staying with us, and I’m sorry you couldn’t be here to see the upgrades and remodeling complete.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.