We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money in this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Bishop to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Bishop
MANNHEIM
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good value for the money in this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Bishop is a pricey location, so I had to leave other better known chains out of consideration and settled for this one. Of course it is an old small place, but the reception was friendly, even cheerful, check-in went smoothly, the lady was very helpful with suggestions where to eat. The rooms were the usual motel-style, a bit worn, but really clean and the linens were ironed and smelled fresh. WiFi worked great, breakfast was rather on the usual continental side - but for the price of the room it was a very good return we got. Thumbs up! I will return.
By the way the pool is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here inbetween driving from death valley and Yosemite. As a cheap stopover it's fine. The room was a decent size, restaurants close by, free wifi and generally quite comfortable. We weren't expecting luxury so it suited us fine. Our room and bedding was clean. My only issues were - the breakfast is not great & the pool looked a bit dirty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the ABVI, Bishop CA.

We appreciate your review and observations which will definitely help us to improve.

We are thankful for putting the good things as well as the improvement points straight.

We have definitely acted on improving the breakfast and also to keep the pool clean.

We would love to see you again at our hotel and we will definitely give you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

absolutely filthy place!
Blood stained bed sheets .. stained chair, grey towels (had they been washed in the last couple of weeks or were there used for wiping the floor before ? unclear)..
it is amazing that this filthy place got a license to operate. You better sleep in you car than sleep there!
So basically, either skip Bishop altogether from the agenda or search for the next place (we stayed a the best western in Alabama..)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and the review.

We definitely appreciate every kind of criticism and suggestions about our hotel.

In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

We have addressed to your observations like bed sheets, towels and also the amenities in the best possible manner and would like you to stay us again.

We are confident that you will find an all new experience with us and would choose us for the next stay while you visit our area.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We were passing through on the way to Vegas and only stayed in Bishop overnight. The price was great for a king room, free wifi a bonus. Great for what we were after. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We presented a coupon at 2:30 p.m. in the afternoon before most other travelers checked in. Desk clerk said they had no room at coupon price and offered more expensive room. We looked in a open room before entering office. Room looked dingy and old. We passed and moved down the road a block to the Super 8.

Room Tip: Always use a coupon from a coupon book or online app. Always ask to see the room before committing...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We investigated the issue and have taken appropriate steps.

You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is off the main drag so traffic noise is not a problem. The facility is old but newly renovated. My blanket hems were worn to the point of falling off but other wise clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is a joke. The eating area is the lobby which is big enough for three people to stand in while at the front desk, forget eating there unless you want to get hit by the door or someone checking out at the counter. The managesr's answer, "take it to your room."

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in this motel in Bishop, it was the same as all the other best value inn's. It was clean and a decent stay. Usual breakfast stuff, ceral, bagels and coffee. Its within walking distance of the small town,if you wanted to eat out and have a few drinks.. What we didnt like was having our door banged down at 9am for room service. We were checking at 11am. We said this to the manager and he said they wouldn't do this, well they did!. Not just one knock, but 2 big bangs on the door!! It cost us about $69 for the night,they also have a pool here.

For motels and places to stay near Yosemite and Death Valley, Bishop is a very good place to consider. Not too sure on the driving distance to Yosemite, I think its just over an hour to the mammoth lakes,with a another drive onto the half done. Id advise people not to book, on say booking.com as they only show 2 motels. But when you arrive in Bishop you have your pick of motels. There are at least 15 motels to choose from. Drive around and take your pick. This way you will also save a few dollars..

There are also plenty of places to eat,you have your pick. KFC, Dennys, Carl Jr's, so you wont go hungry. Gas prices are a bit cheaper here to Big Pine that is 15miles souh of here.

So all in all I think people could really consider Bishop as a stopover to Yosemite and Mammoth Lkes, it has everything you need..

Room Tip: All rooms, face into the courtyard, carpark so its really up to yourself which room, you want. Its i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.