We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not accept coupon and tried to up sell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Bishop to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Would not accept coupon and tried to up sell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We presented a coupon at 2:30 p.m. in the afternoon before most other travelers checked in. Desk clerk said they had no room at coupon price and offered more expensive room. We looked in a open room before entering office. Room looked dingy and old. We passed and moved down the road a block to the Super 8.

Room Tip: Always use a coupon from a coupon book or online app. Always ask to see the room before committing...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We investigated the issue and have taken appropriate steps.

You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    16
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
8
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is off the main drag so traffic noise is not a problem. The facility is old but newly renovated. My blanket hems were worn to the point of falling off but other wise clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is a joke. The eating area is the lobby which is big enough for three people to stand in while at the front desk, forget eating there unless you want to get hit by the door or someone checking out at the counter. The managesr's answer, "take it to your room."

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in this motel in Bishop, it was the same as all the other best value inn's. It was clean and a decent stay. Usual breakfast stuff, ceral, bagels and coffee. Its within walking distance of the small town,if you wanted to eat out and have a few drinks.. What we didnt like was having our door banged down at 9am for room service. We were checking at 11am. We said this to the manager and he said they wouldn't do this, well they did!. Not just one knock, but 2 big bangs on the door!! It cost us about $69 for the night,they also have a pool here.

For motels and places to stay near Yosemite and Death Valley, Bishop is a very good place to consider. Not too sure on the driving distance to Yosemite, I think its just over an hour to the mammoth lakes,with a another drive onto the half done. Id advise people not to book, on say booking.com as they only show 2 motels. But when you arrive in Bishop you have your pick of motels. There are at least 15 motels to choose from. Drive around and take your pick. This way you will also save a few dollars..

There are also plenty of places to eat,you have your pick. KFC, Dennys, Carl Jr's, so you wont go hungry. Gas prices are a bit cheaper here to Big Pine that is 15miles souh of here.

So all in all I think people could really consider Bishop as a stopover to Yosemite and Mammoth Lkes, it has everything you need..

Room Tip: All rooms, face into the courtyard, carpark so its really up to yourself which room, you want. Its i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It's a small motel on a side street just off the main road so the location is good.

The rooms are fine - quite spacious and clean but in need of some TLC.

The first room we had along the back didn't get the wireless signal and we really, really needed it to book the next few nights' hotels. The receptionist suggested we sit in reception which is tiny and smells of curry. This was not an option for what usually turns out to be several hours work on the net. The alternative was to pay more for a double queen as no other king rooms were available. Given free wi-fi is a selling point for them, we weren't happy with this solution so eventually the owners were called out and they agreed we could move room for no extra charge.

The new room was fine, surprisingly not as large as the first so I couldn't quite see why this would have cost more. But anyway. The pool wasn't open but was pretty small and unappealing.

Breakfast was a no-go zone for me - just a choice of doughnut, doughnut or doughnut.

This place was by no means awful and as a no-frills stopover for one night, at the right price, it's fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and also the observations.

We are addressing your observations related to the room features and cleanliness and of course the pool and the breakfast.

You shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

We await your next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We paid 67$ for one night during October 2011.
The lady at the desk was very nice.
It's bit old, but clean and very close to the main street where you can have dinner.
The shower is not in the best maintained but noting too extreme.
The breakfast included muffins, donates, bagels, serials and drinks.
We didn't find any bed bugs or other creatures.
For one night stop, for saving some money – it's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundup, Montana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed one night looking for place to sleep. Older motel definitely showing its age. Room was adequate. Good value, recommend paying cash for best deal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent a night at Americans Best Value Inn, Bishop, in Sept 2011. We were warmly welcomed and all requests were attended to immediately. The room was clean and comfortable and away from the main street, Should we ever be in the area again, we won't hesitate to stay there again,

Room Tip: Had a TV. microwave, fridge and coffee machine in the room and laundry room on ground floor.Washing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.