We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cardinal Village Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cardinal Village Resort
321 Cardinal Road, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent two nights in the Bottleneck cabin last summer. First, the good - the setting was AMAZING - very private, surrounded by aspen, creek running a couple feet from the cabin. The bad - well, I was expecting no frills (it's the cheapest cabin at $85, and has no bathroom - and the owners are straightforward on the phone and website about what to expect), but good lord, those mattresses were awful. We're talking 30 year old summer camp mattresses. If I return to that cabin I'll bring my own sleeping pad. Their other cabins are out of my price range at $200+, so I can't comment on their condition. The pancakes at the restaurant are legendary, and worth a trip even if you don't stay the night there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I've spent lots of time at Cardinal Village Resort. It is a great place to experience a beautiful setting and to get a great meal at the Cardinal Cafe. Dinner is served on Monday and Tuesday nights where you can sit on the deck with a view of Cardinal Peak and experience a fun, relaxing meal. They serve the best ribs I've ever eaten! (You may want to call ahead and make a reservation because it is a popular place with limited seating).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

In our first visit to the resort we stayed in the newest of the cabins named, "Hungry Packer", it was VERY comfortable and clean with a nice western decor. On our second visit we stayed in a 1906 rustic cabin named, "Topsy Turvey", which has been recently painted and redecorated. It's a darling cabin with fishing memorabilia, new granny quilts, gingham curtains, and great ambiance as well as being very comfortable . The Cluff's are a lovely family with three sons, two dogs, a kitten, and chickens. It's a peaceful place to wake up in the morning.

Room Tip: Request either of these cabins.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

My family & I were delighted with our stay at Cardinal Village. We loved the retro nature of the old gold miners cabins, the back to basics rustic feel.

The hospitality of Ken & ShaleAnn was a significant part of our experience there, kinda feel like extended family now!

The mountains, lakes and scenery are breathtaking and the activities like canoeing, hiking and horse riding are second to none.

The only reason we ended up in this part of California was because I was playing a gig there (I'm a singer/songwriter from Ireland) and we fell in love with this 'hidden jewel' of an area.

Look forward to going back sometime!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We are so lucky to live in Bishop, CA... it means we can drive up to Cardinal Village Resort for a yummy pancake (they're huge!) breakfast or a fabulous cheeseburger lunch! You won't want to miss this place... whether it's driving up from Bishop for a meal, or wanting a place to stay while you're fishing. Good atmosphere, great people, fantastic views!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed here so we could get easy access to Lake Sabrina for a weekend fishing trip and thoroughly enjoyed the place. It's rustic, not the Ritz Carlton.

There's horseback riding, plenty of hiking and all the trout fishing you can handle. I think it would be a great place for kids. Our cabin was adequate with a kitchen area, stocked with utensils, plates and a full size fridge. We also found a small fire ring and deck chairs and a picnic table outside. There was even a grill but we didn't try using it.

Its definitely better than camping but common sense rules apply for food. A mouse had obviously stopped by our room at some point but we kept food properly contained and had no issues with "uninvited guests."

Breakfast in the general store was good but they don't serve dinner so we ended up back in Bishop our second night and we felt like we had to re-acclimate to the altitude all over again... Plan ahead and you can avoid this minor inconvenience. It's about a 5000 ft gain from Bishop to Cardinal Village (about 9000 ft elevation.)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea,CA.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Just got back from the village.cabins are comfortable with full kitchens,pots and pans,coffee pot and fireplace.
village also has a fully stocked country store with tackle store.
And the best review weights in on rainbow trout!came back with 15.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cardinal Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Village Resort

Address: 321 Cardinal Road, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty lodging in Bishop
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 11 housekeeping cabins. Each cabin has a full kitchen equipped with kitchen utensils as well as bedding, towel sets and unique bars of glycerin soap. Easy access to stream and lake fishing. The cafe is open 8-3 seven days a week. Very kid friendly! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cardinal Village Hotel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardinal Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cardinal Village Resort to your Saves list