We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   651 North Main St, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“No elevator ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed on a Wednesday night en route to Mammoth. The room is huge and the bed is comfortable. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is so loud and noisy (same switch as the bathroom light). If you have a heavy luggage, there is no elevator. Waffle, cereal, hard boiled egg breakfast. Schatt's bakery is 2-3 doors down.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6046gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for review we will certainly look into an elevator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    38
    28
    26
See reviews for
52
57
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very clean room and property. VERY close to Schat's Bakery! Heater was reasonably quiet, beds were comfortable and no road noise. Dogs are welcome and there was no charge. Beds are tiny (seemed even smaller than a full), but the sheets are nice, and the towels were large. The bathroom is TINY, like a challenge to get around door to get to toilet tiny. We spent the next night at the Vagabond, which had queen beds and the vanity and bath were separate giving us much more room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6046gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for the feedback we are currently working on making the bathrooms a little bigger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I made on online reservation on October 26th to stay November 8th. I then cancelled it online October 27th. Because I stayed at a different La Quinta, in a different State. I had the email showing the cancelation. I had also made reservations for another hotel for the same time period, and then cancelled them AT THE SAME TIME. My plans and hotels had changed. When I got home from my trip everything was fine so I deleted my emails. 3 days later this hotel charged my credit card for the night I didn't stay with them. I called them and asked why, they said I never cancelled, I told them I did and they asked for the email showing this. when I said I had deleted it they sad "too bad, if you have no proof, we are going to charge you". I explained how my trip had changed and how my situation was, they didn't want to listen, they stuck to their guns and refuse to refund my money. I called La Quinta guest services and explained my situation, the lady there said she understood and said she felt a refund was indeed warranted and contact the Hotel manager to ask for a refund for me. It's the end of the month and this cheap hotel that does not have a conscious still refuses to give me a refund even though I gave them a cancelation number, because I couldn't send them a copy of the entire email saying I cancelled the reservation. I will never stay at this dump and give them a penny of my money again. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Best Western that is in Bishop, when I was a truck driver, I frequently had a layover in Bishop and I stayed at the Best Western there, it is older, just like this La Quinta, but it is very quiet and well kept.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6046gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you dont agree that you were charged a no-show fee. It is our policy to always give a cancellation number for customers that do cancel. We do understand plans do change. On the same note we do hold the rooms the entire night for our guests and do not give them away after a certain time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Since we brought our pet, we had to have a pet friendly hotel. So instead of the Creek Side Inn we were stuck with this place. We wanted to be near Schats Bakery and we were. The bakery was only 2 doors down. The Blonde girl that runs the front desk was very friendly and nice. We checked in around 11pm on a Friday night. We had just got settled and the better half was laying down to go to bed. Then the noise started. Sounded like the kids in the next room (Room 206) were running around the room and jumping on the bed. This continued till about 3am. I tried calling the front desk to complain but there was no answer. Then about 6am the kids started again, only this time they were running up and down the halls and screaming in the breakfast area. Since we were staying in the suite (Room 202) we hard every sound that came from the stairs and lobby. This is the nicest room in the Hotel. You would think that they would make it sound proof being so close to the lobby. That being said, I heard no noise coming from 395. All the noise was generated inside the hotel. The next night was much quieter but I could still hear each guest coming up or down the stairs. Around 7am as people started checking out I could hear them noisily carrying luggage down the stairs. Kept me awake this time. I got about 7 hours total sleep for two nights. We were so tired. Sunday morning we called down to the desk to ask for a late check out. We were told that too many people had asked for a late check out so we could have 11:15 if we wanted. Basically the answer was no. So the better half jumped in the shower. I could hear her screaming in pain because the water was so hot. Then she was screaming because the water was so cold. Hot, cold, hot, cold, hot, cold etc... And this all without touching the faucet. I called down to the lobby to ask if there was something running in the hotel. She said she could send a maintenance man up. RIGHT! Anyway, I told her never mind, she was done anyway. So basically if you stay here don't take a shower! We raced down to get checked out expecting a long line. Nope. No one was at the desk, only us. We looked out at the parking lot and there were only two cars. Ok, late check out, lots of people, right. I guess the moral of the story is don't even think about asking for a late check out. The answer is NO! Get out at 11am period. I honestly don't think I could recommend staying here. I will probably stay elsewhere next time in Bishop. Maybe Holiday Express Inn next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the suite (Room 202) too noisy and too close to the lobby. Try staying more in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6046gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. We look forward to showing you that we are working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standards.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

we stayed here for one night on our way to yosemite national park. It was a nice place to stop in, even though if I get to yosemite again, and i hope i will do, I will try and stay IN the park so you can stretch the visit longer.

The hotel is super comfortable! we came in with our son who desperately needed a diaper change. The Lady at the desk who was very efficient got us checked in in one minute so we can go into our room as quickly as possible.

The room is clean and fresh with coffee maker and big tv and clean bathroom. the beds are the right balance of firm so i finally got a good sleep. they also serve breakfast with waffles, fruit, cereal, breads with spreads and more.

right in back of hotel there is a bowling ally my husband went to with our friends.

Room Tip: there is no elevator to second top floor so travelers should ask for 1st floor if theory have stroll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6046gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The room at this La Quinta Inn is clean. The beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly. The breakfast area is too small/cramped. There is no pool. The location is in "downtown" Bishop. Several restaurants are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes

Address: 651 North Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bishop-Mammoth Lakes Hotel Bishop
La Quinta Hotel Bishop
La Quinta Bishop
Bishop La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.