We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   651 North Main St, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Bishop
sunland cali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

two star hotel at four star prices-
I made the mistake of passing through Bishop without a hotel reservation- unfortunately, it was a busy weekend and I just took the first hotel with an available room -I admit I was tired and desperate- but $190 a night for room!! In Bishop!!
This is not a fancy hotel- the rooms are clean- which is the least one would expect from a hotel- there isn't a pool or any spa or any type of luxury- the "continental' breakfast was something that would be available at any two star hotel- stale bagels, packaged cereal, cold hard boiled eggs-
My mistake was not having a reservation because their website advertises $85 a night- so if this is your only available option- make sure you have a reservation

Room Tip: be sure you have a reservation so they don't take advantage of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    46
    34
    21
    25
See reviews for
43
49
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mojave, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains has uncomparable scenery, hiking and fishing. The small town of Bishop, CA also hosts a Millpond Music Festival each year which is fab. The La Quinta room was clean (a BIG plus for me), free parking and a small breakfast each morning. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you want a quiet place with the addiction of a small breakfast to keep cost down this place is great. Many skiers use Bishop to defer their cost since the town, just 1/2 hour from the slopes is less expensive. The hotel is very clean. Staff always on call. Parking well lit and safe. At night the doors are pass key entry. Lobby has 411 on area interest and it is located near a great japanese and chinese restaurant. If you fly fish you have so many options from this location. In fall the prices drop so make it a destination. If you have special needs, i.e. handicap let them know, they will accommodate you as best they can.

Room Tip: Room Tip: I purchase all my travels from on line service as well as joining LQ frequent travel plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

No elevator to 2nd floor, we had 2 heavy suitcases to carry up a long, narrow staircase, the swimming pool did not exist, bathroom was the smallest we ever experienced in a hotel, the TV was not as advertised on LQ website.
We think it is a disservice that La Quinta allows this hotel to lower the standard of their franchise. Next time we stay in Bishop, it will not be at the La Quinta. One more thing, as far as value for your money(we paid $105/1 nite, 2 people), at least Motel 6 has elevators.



Quote from LQ website about this particular LQ in Bishop, CA;

"NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics."

Room Tip: If you are desparate to stay at this hotel, pick the 1st floor, there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I travel all over the world doing comedy hypnosis shows. The staff here (front desk and housekeeping) was extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel lobby, breakfast area, lobby rest rooms and my room were very clean and well maintained. The water was hot. The sink and tub drained properly. The room was good sized, had good lighting and there was a big desk to work on. The hotel and staff was very quiet. It was walking distance to everything. The breakfast had great variety including yogurt, hot waffle machine and batter, fresh fruit cold cereal, etc. A super value for the money. I will stay there on my next trip to Bishop, CA.

Room Tip: I especially enjoyed the refrigerator and microwave. They were worth the extra money to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My spouse and I travel to Bishop often and are searching constantly for comfortable lodgings that are affordable. While not as nice as the Creekside or Holiday Inn Express, the La Quinta room was quiet, spacious and clean, with microwave and fridge that worked. Lack of a pool might be a problem for some. The breakfast was bare bones, but service was friendly. And the wifi worked reasonably well. Note, if you are going to Mammoth Lakes (as the location on the motel indicates): Bishop is at least 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I go thru Bishop 5-6 times a year at least and for some reason have not stayed here before. I went to hotels.com a few hours before we got there and it had a half star above the others in the same price range so I booked it. It check in person was very friendly. The room was great! A nice comfy bed. The bathroom was very small, but not to small to get around in for a night. I would suggest you look at there services book in the room. It was 8pm and we were tried from the drive. We ordered delivery from the chinese rest and it was great! It also arrived in under ten minutes. I did not have breakfast but my husband did and said for what he had it was good.

Room Tip: no elevator so ask if you don't want to walk up one flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes

Address: 651 North Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bishop-Mammoth Lakes Hotel Bishop
La Quinta Hotel Bishop
La Quinta Bishop
Bishop La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.