We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find from Tripadvisor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   274 Lagoon Street, Bishop, CA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find from Tripadvisor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chose this Hotel based on the Tripadvisor review and was very pleased. It is a newly remodeled room that is every bit as good as any of the larger chain Hotels in the area. It's great to support a local business. $10 pet fee, but the total cost is still less then a comparable room at the local chain hotels.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
45
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel! For the price of a room on Main Street we were able to get a room and have a nice Christmas dinner. We even hooked our computer up to the TV (brought our own HDMI). Room was clean and heater worked well! Nice shower with great water temp and pressure which is important when you have long hair. We woke up in the morning to new fallen snow and the walkway to our cars were already 'plowed' and salted it was so nice. The woman who works there was so friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Customer service was so great and accommodating. We were going to arrive way later from San Francisco than the check in time stated and the staff went way beyond anything I thought they would.

The room was so lovely and cozy. The bed was so comfortable. For the price, room, and customer service - this is the one of the best motels/hotels I have ever stayed!

Room Tip: They have parking spaces for every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brawley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Wow, what a sweet place! When we entered our room, we thought it would be just another room. Not so! It was very quaint, and clean. We loved the room. It beackoned us to stay. The bed was very comfortable. We were very happy with our room. The service was terrific! We asked the motel workers and friends where they thought we could travel to just to see more of outdoors and they directed us to such beautiful places. Our "bike" ride was breath takingly beautiful. We cant wait to come back to the El Rancho Motel on our next trip north. Thank you for such a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. You were a great pleasure to have as guests. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again. If you are looking for something in the area again feel free to give us a call. Thanks again and we anticipate your return arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent a couple of days in Bishop and had a ball. We got to the motel late and the manager Heather was very nice about it. She helped us get into our room quickly and we bedded down for the night. The room was clean and the bed was heavenly. The next morning we went into the office to get some information about good places to eat. Heather gave us some good places to eat and places to go exploring. That evening we wanted to stay in so we bar b qued (on the motel's bbq) while we were doing that Heather and her Husband came out and we just sat around talking and eating. Before we knew it it was almost midnight. They were both so friendly and made us feel at home. We do like to travel and when we meet managers as these we always go back. Will be going back in a couple of months. If you are heading out that way stay there. They are good people and the motel is clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: All are good. Oh they have kitchens too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always look forward to meeting new friends, and expanding our El Rancho family. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I arrived on a Thursday evening the weekend of Labor day and also when the traveling amusement park was in town. As a result, the price was $75 instead of the usual $55. With tax the total was $84. I wasn't there for the amusement park or the Labor Day weekend (after all, it was Thursday so as far as I was concerned the weekend hadn't really even started). I was just passing through on a motorcycle trip from SC and just wanted a bed for the nite. I presented my case to the lady on duty but not being the owner she said she couldn't help me. This is typical of a lot of businesses in the US. The person who has to deal with the customer doesn't have the authority to meet the customer needs and the owner is isolated from the customer so he/she doesn't have to deal with the problem. I even asked that the owner be contacted and I was basically laughed off.

The room was very nice. Clean and comfortable but the internet wouldn't work. It kept disconnecting as the result of a "very low" signal. I spoke to the office lady and she said it was probably due to the wind.

I had to sit outside of my room to get any decent signal strength.

I understand supply and demand but if the demand warrants a 37% increase in the price, then the service should increase respectively. The internet should have worked from my room.

When I dropped off the key I complained about the internet and all I got was a smile. My hope for some offer of compensation was of course misguided since once again the owner wasn't available.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the office as you can if you plan to use the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I understand your concerns with the prices at the time. Our community hosts events twice a year that cause the rates all over town to go up. I try very hard to accomadate everyone's needs, as I did with you by dropping your rate from 85.00 to 75.00 the night you stayed. I know that we have had some problems with the wireless when it is windy, we are currently working to resolve the problem, and that is why we also have wired internet, and why I gave you a cord so you can have DSL in your room. I hope this experience does not hinder you from visiting us again. We constantly strive to improve our service for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel was cheap and very adequate. The rooms have been newly renovated (at least partially). The beds and linens seem new, the bed was comfortable. This place was quiet at night (at least on a Sunday night). Each room has a mini fridge. Nice flat screen TV. Other reviewers said that the rooms had hard wood floors, which was part of the reason that I was interested in this hotel; unfortunately, our room had dirty blue carpeting. Indeed it was quite dirty carpet; my daughter's feet were very dirty after being barefoot on that carpet for not more than 10 minutes. The room was only surface clean...when I opened the nightstand drawer, there were sunflower seed shells in it, and one of the dresser drawers had a smashed tortilla chip inside. Bathroom seemed clean. Overall this hotel served our needs just fine, it was very cheap and comfortable for a single night. Nothing fancy, but at this price level, you can't expect the Hilton. For what they are charging this place if a good deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with hardwood floors. Other reviewers mentioned them, so some rooms must have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you so much for you feed back on our motel. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer service. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you may have had, and I hope that it will not detour you from visiting us again. We take all feedback serious and we are working hard to improve our guests comfort. We want you to have a home away from home experience. Again thank you, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 274 Lagoon Street, Bishop, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rancho Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 units total3 kitchen units, in-room coffee, microwaves and mini fridges, non-smoking rooms, senior discount, fish freezing. Laminate wood flooring in most rooms, flat screen televisions. Daily housekeeping available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.