We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bakery/cafe in the middle of nowhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erick Schat's Bakkery

Erick Schat's Bakkery
763 N. Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514
(760) 873-7156
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Bishop
Cuisines: Bakery, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
“Amazing bakery/cafe in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very nice bakery and real "homemade" bread with a lot of different breads baked according to recepies from the "old land".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    142
    32
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great lunch to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were leaving Bishop to head up to Yosemite and wanted to have some sandwiches made up for the trip. It took us a couple of minutes to figure out the system of ordering, but all the servers were very patient and helpful.
Our sandwiches were so good! We ordered a variety, including ham and cheese, turkey breast and bacon, and my veggie and cheese. Half sandwiches were plenty for us because they were certainly packed with fillings, and the bread was hearty and delicious.
The finishing touch was the free cookies that they put into our bags. How nice to have a sweet treat pop up unexpectedly!
I really wish I could have "shopped" there as there were so many yummy looking jams and relishes, to say nothing of the pies, tarts, cookies and cakes. We could really have gone to town on those babies. Fortunately reason prevailed and we resisted those treats, but another time I would not have so much self-control! I say, "go for it!"

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Must Stop for the Traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Fresh baked goods, and the fresh roasted turkey sandwiches are to die for. Roast beef, ham, all good. The atmosphere is a bit rushed, but once you visit, you understand that the steady stream of customers from nearby ski resorts, lakes, fishing and camping trips, all stop in for good reason. We live about an hour away and make the drive once, sometimes twice a month down scenic 395 for our fix of pull away pecan bread and Thor turkey sandwiches.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Dutch bakery, deli and cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped there for lunch and had the most delicious sandwiches, soup and salad. I also loved their free samples they set out of many of their bakery items!!! Will definitely return the next time we go through Bishope!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must-visit BAKERY, NOT a 5-star RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Incredible selection of fresh baked breads, ranging from baguettes to raisin Jalapeno to 12 grain date nut. Excellent sandwich selection - stand in line, order, then eat there or take out. Excellent quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Erick Schat's Bakkery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erick Schat's Bakkery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.