We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay at Trees Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trees Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Trees Motel to your Saves list
The Trees Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   796 West Line St., Bishop, CA 93514   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Oak View, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at Trees Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I finally had the opportunity to stay at the Trees Motel. The past trips it has always been filled up, now we know why. We were able to book the last room and got a great rate. We had a very comfortable bed, loved having the kitchen area and enjoyed the friendly, helpful folks as well as loved the outdoor atmosphere with folks barbecuing and kids playing in the outdoor area. Great little motel, great value and we'll be back!!

Room Tip: We were in Room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
26
26
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff at this motel were faultless, and went out of their way to provide an excellent service. Unfortunately, the rooms themselves are old, tired and run down. The beds were very uncomfortable, and the walls are paper thin. The hair dryer was missing altogether, it's cord had been cut. The wardrobe door was missing and the bathroom door was warped and wouldn't close. We could hear road noise and the couple next door fighting all night. When we stayed the whole area felt somewhat unsafe, with a large gang of young adults hanging around and eventually the police being called in the early hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Got to there after being reffered by a local, apparently there was a local event that weekend so all other hotels were full, but I was glad cause I got to stay in this cool place. Very roomy, spacious and affordable. Worth it's value and more

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I actually stayed here twice this past summer. Once by myself in a queen room next to the office which was perfect for me. As someone in another post suggested: Don't be turned off by the outside. The rooms have been redecorated and 1 of the 2 had a completely new bathroom. The second stay was with my husband in a king room with an amazing full kitchen! Unfortunately, it was at the end by the busy road so the noise was a bit annoying. In all fairness, we COULD have asked if we could switch rooms and I booked at the last minute so it may have been all they had available. It looked fully booked each time.
The beds in both rooms were very comfortable and the linens are pristine white and very nice! The bathrooms in both rooms were sparkling clean, too! Nice big flat screen TV's and FREE internet! YAHOO! There is no food available but hey, for the bargain prices they charge, who cares?! Most rooms seem to have a kitchen (even my queen room had a microwave and small refrigerator) so if you are traveling with a cooler and don't want to eat out (lots of fast food places, Whiskey Creek and the bowling alley) you have it made. Outside in the grass area is a large BBQ and even a nice area for fishermen to clean their catch. The ice maker next to the office is also very handy.
Veronica mentioned that there had been problems getting wi-fi in our room and offered an ethernet cord but I had no problems. I tell ya, if you want something, just ask! They will bend over backwards to make you happy.
You know what made me happy? To see the little pink tricycle next to the office door. :-) How cute is that? This is obviously a young family trying to make an old motel into a nice place for families to stay when visiting the Bishop area. I didn't hear a peep so don't worry about that! Veronica and her family and staff are doing a great job!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road if possible. If traveling solo, the queen room next to the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were looking for a place that we could store our frozen trout and this was recommended by the information center. It was perfect. Nice size kitchen with all amenities. They even have a fish cleaning station which was perfect. Billy and Veronica were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Cozy motel with excellent staff and very clean rooms. I have stayed in most motels in Bishop, but this is my favorite. I loved the location which is walking distance to restaurants and other services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great hotel for a stopover from Yosemity NP to Las Vegas. The rooms are okay but clean. The garden is perfect for relaxing with a drink. Noisy airco, but that is a problem for most motels. Beware of spiders, my son found a black widow a few feet from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica L, Manager at The Trees Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
In my opinion, the yard and sitting area outside is one of the best features of our motel. Our guests are able to relax in the shade and enjoy the beauty of the Eastern Sierra Nevada mountains. While it is unsettling that your son found a spider near the motel, I can assure you that this is not a frequent sighting here as we do have monthly exterminator visits for the interior and exterior of the motel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trees Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trees Motel

Address: 796 West Line St., Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trees Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Trees Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trees Hotel Bishop
Trees Motel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trees Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.