We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph House Inn

Save Saved
You added Joseph House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joseph House Inn
376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 NIGHTS-$155/night
Ranked #1 of 3 Bishop B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A place to stay and relax. We spent the Labor Day Weekend here and enjoyed the lovely breakfasts and lunch and dinner recommendations. The Laws railroad museum is well worth a visit as is a drive up Rock Creek Canyon. I can highly recommend a visit to Bishop but you have to stay here.
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've just spent 3 nights at Joseph House Inn. Myriam makes you feel right at home with a welcoming glass of wine and snacks. Our room was huge, clean, comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The breakfasts were beautifully prepared, fresh and yummy. The grounds are lush and relaxing. Myriam offers recommendations for local restaurants and even makes reservations for you. Can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: We had the suite and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were travelling in a desolate part of California to see the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest and found a treasure in addition to the trees—Joseph House Inn. We were tired of driving winding roads and walking uphill in high altitudes when we arrived and found a welcoming place to rest.
Our room was very comfortable, and we enjoyed walking in the beautiful garden areas surrounding the B & B. The owner was so gracious to help us decide on a great place for dinner. After a peaceful, quiet, restful night, we were served an outstanding breakfast—a wonderful homemade plum sauce and the best omelet we’ve ever tasted!
We recommend this B & B to others travelling the area around Yosemite and would return for a visit in a heartbeat. The area has many beautiful sights and the Joseph House Inn is such a terrific place to stay, it’s a shame to have only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a positive gem. For a few dollars more you can have lovely, quiet, gracious rather than being right on 395. But the best part is Myriam and her charming parents; they are hosts in the very best sense of the word. And BOY can they cook. The best choice in bishop by far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Joseph House Inn in Bishop is a truly luxuriouos B&B with amenities that even some of the best hotels can't come up with. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. But what really makes this place special is the huge property - a gorgeous garden with pond, abundant shade trees and loads of gorgeous flowers and shrubs. In fact, the place is so stunning that we spent the entire afternoon reading and relaxing in these peaceful surroundings. Breakfast on the pation was also magnificent, and we had a lovely time chatting with the owners, who do a fantastic job.
I can think of only one improvement - since there is so much space available in the pation area, it would be a real boon if the owners could install an ice maker for guests, so that one doesn't always have to bother Myriam.
Otherwise, we loved every minute at the Joseph House Inn and will certainly return if we are ever in the area again.

Room Tip: Every one of the rooms is beautiful!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a very pleasant and quiet setting in what can be a hot summer area! Not to mention easy-going hosts and very tasty breakfasts. Two blocks to the main street or the park. Call in advance. Lots of activities in the area if you want to be in the great outdoors.

Room Tip: Only two king rooms if that matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I may regret rating the Joseph House Inn so highly, because as more people find out about how wonderful this B & B is, finding availablity there will be more difficult. I have been visiting Bishop for many years and this is the place to stay. Hands down the best in town. Myriam and Hilde were wonderful hosts, the breakfasts were fabulous, and the room and outside grounds were superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joseph House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph House Inn

Address: 376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a hotel this bed and breakfast is located in a lush oasis in Bishop, CA off of Hwy 395 in the high desert between the Sierras to the west and the White Mountains to the east. If you are traveling between Death Valley and Yosemite in the summer, Joseph House Inn is the ideal layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Joseph House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph House Hotel Bishop
Joseph Hotel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.