We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure in the Wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Joseph House Inn to your Saves list
Joseph House Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bishop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Treasure in the Wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were travelling in a desolate part of California to see the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest and found a treasure in addition to the trees—Joseph House Inn. We were tired of driving winding roads and walking uphill in high altitudes when we arrived and found a welcoming place to rest.
Our room was very comfortable, and we enjoyed walking in the beautiful garden areas surrounding the B & B. The owner was so gracious to help us decide on a great place for dinner. After a peaceful, quiet, restful night, we were served an outstanding breakfast—a wonderful homemade plum sauce and the best omelet we’ve ever tasted!
We recommend this B & B to others travelling the area around Yosemite and would return for a visit in a heartbeat. The area has many beautiful sights and the Joseph House Inn is such a terrific place to stay, it’s a shame to have only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a positive gem. For a few dollars more you can have lovely, quiet, gracious rather than being right on 395. But the best part is Myriam and her charming parents; they are hosts in the very best sense of the word. And BOY can they cook. The best choice in bishop by far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Joseph House Inn in Bishop is a truly luxuriouos B&B with amenities that even some of the best hotels can't come up with. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. But what really makes this place special is the huge property - a gorgeous garden with pond, abundant shade trees and loads of gorgeous flowers and shrubs. In fact, the place is so stunning that we spent the entire afternoon reading and relaxing in these peaceful surroundings. Breakfast on the pation was also magnificent, and we had a lovely time chatting with the owners, who do a fantastic job.
I can think of only one improvement - since there is so much space available in the pation area, it would be a real boon if the owners could install an ice maker for guests, so that one doesn't always have to bother Myriam.
Otherwise, we loved every minute at the Joseph House Inn and will certainly return if we are ever in the area again.

Room Tip: Every one of the rooms is beautiful!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a very pleasant and quiet setting in what can be a hot summer area! Not to mention easy-going hosts and very tasty breakfasts. Two blocks to the main street or the park. Call in advance. Lots of activities in the area if you want to be in the great outdoors.

Room Tip: Only two king rooms if that matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I may regret rating the Joseph House Inn so highly, because as more people find out about how wonderful this B & B is, finding availablity there will be more difficult. I have been visiting Bishop for many years and this is the place to stay. Hands down the best in town. Myriam and Hilde were wonderful hosts, the breakfasts were fabulous, and the room and outside grounds were superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for two weekend nights while in Bishop for a wedding. I was with the bride and groom and they made the arrangements, so I wasn't sure what to expect. My previous stays in Bishop had been in chain hotels (Holiday Inn Express and Best Westerns) so nothing to write home about! The Joseph House B&B was a totally wonderful surprise!

We arrived around 6 on a Friday evening and were greeted by the delightful owner, Myriam and shown to our rooms. My room was just off the spacious living room and was a nicely decorated room with a queen bed, a chair and attached bath. It is decorated very nicely in greens and purples, plenty of pillows, towels and a bathrobe. There was a small armoire that hid a small, flat-screen TV. That TV space is shared with the hanging space for clothes, so is a bit awkward and short (all my clothes were too long), but not a big problem. There is also a coat rack that I used for the really long things. The bed was comfortable and had several duvets (the nights get chilly). The windows open for fresh air, and there is a ceiling fan, which I used all night because I like to sleep cold.

The living spaces are also nicely decorated and there are plenty of very comfortable sofas and chairs, and good reading light. Sliding glass doors open out onto a spacious patio, appointed with lots of tables and chairs, with shade umbrellas (it was 80 degrees in Bishop this weekend!). The patio opens out onto a beautiful lawn with lots of very mature trees, both evergreen and deciduous, blooming daffodils, and a creek running along the back. Everything was blooming so the grounds were spectacular!

Coffee is at 7:00, though Myriam was kind enough to have it ready for me early, since I am an early riser. Breakfast is at 8:00 and was served by Myriam and her mother, Hilde, who couldn't have been sweeter! The food is prepared and presented beautifully! They are willing to make accommodations for those with food "issues" so be sure to state your needs when you make your reservation.

The two night stay was really relaxing and pleasant and I can't wait to bring my husband back for a longer stay!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms with king-sized beds and both are at the end of the hall and have sliding g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second stay at the Joseph House Inn. I am in hotels approximately 200 nights per year, and the hotels in Bishop have disappointed me. (Few have interior entrances.) I feel very safe and comfortable at the Joseph House Inn. The rooms are all different, and all are large with private baths! I'm anxious to try out all the different rooms.

The host Myriam is absolutely fabulous! Upon arriving, you are given a tour of the property, and a glass of wine. There are many places to sit, both inside and out. The property is quite large. In nice weather, you really must sit outside for a bit and enjoy the beautiful scenery and sounds.

Myriam serves a fantastic, full breakfast. The night before, she'll inquire about any allergies you might have. The people I've met at breakfast have been fascinating.

Myriam is also very knowledgeable about the area. She can recommend nice drives, restaurants, etc.

I'm looking forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! I've stayed in the suite and the Rose Room, and have seen all the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Joseph House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph House Inn

Address: 376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Joseph House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a hotel this bed and breakfast is located in a lush oasis in Bishop, CA off of Hwy 395 in the high desert between the Sierras to the west and the White Mountains to the east. If you are traveling between Death Valley and Yosemite in the summer, Joseph House Inn is the ideal layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Joseph House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph House Hotel Bishop
Joseph Hotel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.