We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very safe for solo female travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Joseph House Inn to your Saves list
Joseph House Inn
376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bishop B&B and Inns
Murrieta
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Very safe for solo female travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second stay at the Joseph House Inn. I am in hotels approximately 200 nights per year, and the hotels in Bishop have disappointed me. (Few have interior entrances.) I feel very safe and comfortable at the Joseph House Inn. The rooms are all different, and all are large with private baths! I'm anxious to try out all the different rooms.

The host Myriam is absolutely fabulous! Upon arriving, you are given a tour of the property, and a glass of wine. There are many places to sit, both inside and out. The property is quite large. In nice weather, you really must sit outside for a bit and enjoy the beautiful scenery and sounds.

Myriam serves a fantastic, full breakfast. The night before, she'll inquire about any allergies you might have. The people I've met at breakfast have been fascinating.

Myriam is also very knowledgeable about the area. She can recommend nice drives, restaurants, etc.

I'm looking forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! I've stayed in the suite and the Rose Room, and have seen all the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is just what a B&B should be. Well furnished and perfectly maintained rooms, beautiful grounds, excellent food, and a gracious host.

There are five rooms in a large ranch style house on a large lot. While the rooms are comfortable, there is also a large comfortable living room, and places to relax outside. It is easy to walk from the property to the main drag in Bishop.

A terrific place for couples.

Room Tip: Any room is great. It is an exceptionally quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A wonderfully relaxing place to getaway from the hectic pace of life. The grounds are beautiful, with plenty of places to sit and relax. The owner and family are friendly, and have a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area. Breakfast was delicious, as was the conversation with Hilde, the owner of the property. Schat's Bakery is just a short walk around the corner! Cannot wait to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A beautiful guest house run by a warm and charming family, situated in a lovely California town. Comfortable, great location, stunning grounds, delicious breakfast - can't fault it. An ideal place to stay if you are touring the western USA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

A few months ago, my partner and I discovered this wonderful B+B while touring America.
We still talk about our relaxed time spent there, as one of the highlights of our holiday.
It is probably in our personal top 5 ever best B+B.

The hosts, Myriam and her parents are extremley friendly and welcoming people.Having run their own restaurant for many years, they know how to look after their "customers".
Myriam cooked something different for each morning, made with fresh ingredients, and a dash of love!

This place was spotless/comfortable/quiet and relaxing.There was a choice of 5 rooms, with a large open plan lounge available for guests to use.

Would recommend the room we had, with patio doors, that opened out on to a well looked after garden/grounds.
We watched the wildlife, including resident ducks and 6 fluffy chicks paddling on the small pond, while we reclined on a garden lounge, sipping the complimentary glass of wine early evening.The grounds are full of different types of trees, and plenty of flowers to give colour.

A short stroll early evening to the main street,and we found a good choice of several eating places.We chose a local pizza place, for its really good salad bar.

We found Myriam and her mother knew the area really well.They were not only good at showing interest in what we had planned for the day, but also brilliant at suggesting what else we might look up while in a particular area.
It was a little more than we would normally have paid, but was really good value for money.
We had only intended to stay one night, but completley changed our travelling plans,extending our stay to 3 nights, taking in all this place had to offer.

Room Tip: room with patio door leading straight out on to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last October.
We were greeted by Hilde the hosts mother,a lovely lady who treated us like family and made us feel very welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very nice.
The inn is located in pleasant grounds a short walk from the town centre where nice sandwiches could be bought from Shatts bakery and the local Chinese restaurant provided lovely meals and pleasant service in the evening.
Stay here you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent 3 days at the Joseph House Inn and it lives up to its excellent reputation here on TripAdvisor. The proprietors were friendly and they helped us to plan our day trips. Breakfast is delicious and the innkeeper even asked what time we'd like to be served each morning. My wife and I look forward to the evening social hour, to sit in the beautiful garden area with a glass of wine. The overall experience was five stars out of five. We definitely will return for some r&r.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the garden if you're a first-timer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Joseph House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph House Inn

Address: 376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a hotel this bed and breakfast is located in a lush oasis in Bishop, CA off of Hwy 395 in the high desert between the Sierras to the west and the White Mountains to the east. If you are traveling between Death Valley and Yosemite in the summer, Joseph House Inn is the ideal layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Joseph House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph House Hotel Bishop
Joseph Hotel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.