We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Basin Bakery

Great Basin Bakery
275 D South Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
(760) 873-9828
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 49 restaurants in Bishop
Restaurant details
Gold Point, NV
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I go here everytime I go to Bishop. They make the best sourdough bread and cowgirl cookies. :-) Yummy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    13
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a favorite bakery with locals. If you are fortunate enough they will have some of their cowgirl cookies too. Great bread, rolls, bagels, cookies, scones, holiday items.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It's a Bakery, we got cookies and Lemonade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had to rate this place because the cookies I got a the number one rated place didn't stack up. On a recommendation from a local we went off the main drag and found this place. First off, most of the items were sold out. That should tell you something. So we thought we would get some lemonade and some lemon cookies. OMG! The bag says knock your socks off cookies and guess what? They are right, best lemon cookies I have ever had. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Everything made with care. Excellent local coffee. Ate there two days in. A row for breakfast and lunch. Bought cowgirl cookies and whole wheat bread to go. Wish I had a similar place in my neighborhood!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“baguettes . . . oh yeh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The fresh baguettes make my day if I get there before they're snatched up by the early birds. The croissants are very good and the scones are always a treat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Basin Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Great Basin Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Basin Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.