We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Pie - Fresh Air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pie in the Sky Cafe

Pie in the Sky Cafe
Rock Creek Lakes Resort, P.O. Box 727, Bishop, CA 93515
(760) 935-4311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Bishop
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Pie - Fresh Air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Driving up from LA to Tahoe we took a lunch detour to try Pie in the Sky after hearing about it from various sources. Nice scenic drive up from 395. Directional signage is not the best.

The pie is GREAT. The day we were there all the pies were still offered. I had a slice of lemon cream pie and my wife had a slice of boysenberry. Both were delicious. The crust on both was firm and flakey. The fillings yummy.

It is pricey but so what - nothing beats a great piece of pie in fresh mountain air

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
orange county
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“High on pie..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As others have said, you must arrive early. On our visit to Bishop we thought we would take a drive up to explore Rock Creek Lake, about 30 miles north of town. We also wanted to check out Pie in the Sky. We arrived at about 2PM and saw several cars in the lot, I was sure all the pie would be gone. Luckily there were two pieces of chocolate cream pie remaining. It was so good that we made plans to return in a couple of days only earlier. Two days later, we returned after a short hike up Rock Creek and ordered berry pie, which we ate while parked next to the beautiful lake. This is an awsome area to visit and Pie in the Sky makes it even better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We were hungry & saw the sign-had no idea how good it would be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

After our hike we really needed some grub and this was the closest place...wow we were so pleasantly surprised and will rave about his place until we return. We ordered lunch at the small lunch bar - great burgers and sandwich from a pleasant girl who made sure we had everything we needed...by 12:45 when we got there all the pies were gown except one "mud" pie but that was just fine for me as I love ice cream pies - huge yum as I had no previous knowledge of this famous pie stop but know I do :) everything is great, nice people to talk to, lots of fellow travelers looking for good grub and good place to relax for a few moments. Please try them out but go early for pie they really do run out fast!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Pie Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's worth the drive to this beautiful spot in the Eastern Sierra and the pie is as good as my own! Order one to take home with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best Pies Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Order a piece of pie to go and hike into Little Lakes Valley. Eat the pie at one of the lovely lakes along the way! Heaven!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pie in the Sky Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pie in the Sky Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pie in the Sky Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.