We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoked BBQ favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Smoke Texas BBQ

Holy Smoke Texas BBQ
N. Main Street, Bishop, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Downey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Smoked BBQ favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

First thought was its packed and its going to be awhile. Far from it, Shelby worked the order counter so efficiently before I had a chance to change my mind I was standing right in front of her! We ordered the half chicken platter and baked Mac & cheese. Thank goodness I only ordered one meal because it was a huge 1/2 chicken and the Mac n cheese was delicious! Lots of different barbecue sauces to choose from too. You never know when you travel what your going to get, right? This place was a wonderful surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    90
    19
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Holy meat!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

On our way back from Yosemite we stopped in for lunch. I had the pulled pork sandwich and gobbled it down in less than 10 minutes so good, smoked,tender, spices were perfect . 4 different sauces to choose from at your table and roll of paper towels. Clean restaurant constantly busy, and the sweet tea hit the spot on a hot day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We travelled all the way from Georgia to the little town of Bishop, California for some of the BEST Texas BBQ! Reasonably priced. Large portions. Great sides. Had to wait in line to order, but well worth the wait. The girls working the restaurant were so sweet and friendly, even though they were SUPER busy! Made us feel right at home. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice place for BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Right, you need to be early. The family-run place closes at 9, we came only 40 minutes before that and could have only brisket, pulled pork and sausage. But this was fine, with very good sides (cole slaw, beans, baked potato) and interesting sauces. Even on hot days, outdoor seating is offered with cooling spray.
Recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great spot for eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great food and reasonably priced! The service was good. The help were extremely busy but ALWAYS asked if we needed something!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Smoke Texas BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Holy Smoke Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Smoke Texas BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.