We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No respect to food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Smoke Texas BBQ

Holy Smoke Texas BBQ
N. Main Street, Bishop, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Bishop
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“No respect to food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The meat was good BUT the strange way it was served is undignified.
Maybe if we were American we would give the place a better rate, but as tourists - the way the food was sereved didn't give any respect for the food. Paper plats, plastic forks and knifs......
- it's more a fast food restaurant with a price of a real restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    76
    15
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We got told to leave!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

For one this place has not been here for years. I'm a bishop local for 23 years. They only been there a few months. We have been told to leave because they wanted to close up. The owner lady is just rude!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“backbone trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This has been here for years and years - a favorite for families and just a place to relax for bbq. This is in downtown Bishop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Likes: Great fresh BBQ. Simple menu, but very tasty. Very homey,variety of bbq sauces to add to your meal, very family friendly place.
Dislikes: None

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We don't even eat red meat but couldn't resist the bbq chicken here. It was very juicy and the smoky overtones were delightful. Also, loved the sauce choices on the table (the "hot" is really hot, but good). Not much on ambiance, but who cares? Great family place and very reasonable. It's a bit far from LA, but we're seriously thinking of coming back up here just to eat at Holy Smoke!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holy Smoke Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Smoke Texas BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.