We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nope.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bishop

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Bishop to your Saves list
Motel 6 Bishop
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1005 North Main Street, US 395/US 6, north of SR 168/West Line Street, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nope.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 5 nights in June. The room was spacious but only because there's nothing in them. There are so many things to point out that's wrong here. The door to our room made this high pitched nails on a chalkboard sound every time you opened or closed it. The lights in the room are just weird. The main light you switch on is behind the tv so when you try to watch the tv , more on that debacle in a minute, you are blinded by the glare of the light. The "hardwood" floors are nice until you walk on it barefoot then you realize they do not mop them and your feet turn blacker then a moonless night. The air conditioner and bathroom vent compete to see who can be the loudest. Really they sound like jets. Maybe that's good so it drowns out all the noise from your neighbors. Two of the days we were there the tv stations didn't work. I went to the office finally and asked what was going on and the response was "how am I supposed to know" I suggested maybe the guy behind the counter find out but he didn't seem to concerned. The pool was filled with dirt and leaves and the back of the property smelled like a landfill. Don't think we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We regret the fact that you do not like the new room style for all Motel 6’s. We thank you for taking the time to let us know what you did not like about your stay so that we may improve the quality of what we offer to our guests. If you give us another chance, we are sure you would be much happier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    26
    15
    13
See reviews for
29
55
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Front desk was nice but the room was terrible. The place was way over-priced. There were ants in the bathroom, the stopper for the sink wasn't attached and the fan in the bathroom sounded like a jet was landing. The room was so sparse we were lucky to have towels. We had to ask for their small toiletries. There was no Kleenex, coffee maker or anything. It was like something back in the 50's. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any good rooms. Cheap rooms for outrageous prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are very sorry you did not enjoy yourself at our Motel 6. Unlike most budget motels, we do offer quite a few amenities and toiletries you would not find in most, like: refrigerators, microwaves, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, tooth brushes, toothpaste and razors. We also have very competitive prices for the area, which is a huge tourist town during the summer. We hope that you will give us another try on your next vacation and that you will have a much more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a tour of the area and it was supposed to be a stop off, and thats the best way to call this place. The room was not clean, by that i mean hairs in the bath, ants and the hardest bed i think i have ever tried to sleep in. The usual trick of make the air con really load so you will not use it, made the summer night very warm. not much in the way of luxury, including no hair dryers. Budget it is. I have not stayed in another place in Bishop, if i went again I think i would try a less budget place or look at the next area down.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We apologize for your unsatisfactory stay at our Motel 6. The problems you encountered, such as hair, ants and A/C problems are not up to our standards. Be assured we have done everything we can to fix the issues, and prevent future occurrences. We hope that next time you are in the area that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire Uk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The welcome was okay, the quality of the room was sparse and whilst the bedding and towels were clean the floor was not. A hardwood floor needs to be washed occasionally not just vacuumed our feet were dirty from the floor as was the floor towel in the bathroom
The checkout was underwhelming and the coffee, no cookies, was weak
The price was high for the standard of the facility but this is typical of Bishop

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are sorry that your stay was not up to expectation. At Motel 6 our goal is to provide excellent service paired with a competitive price. We appreciate your input to help us better serve our guests in the future and we hope you will give us another chance to do just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The toilet wouldn't flush, the A/C looked like it was put in by a second grader - and it rattled loudly all night; and it wasn't well insulated, so the dude smoking on the balcony's second hand smoke came in frequently. The staff was reasonably friendly, but apparently unable to fix anything (like the toilet). I had to do it myself. Pay an additional $10 and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We appreciate your review of our Motel 6, and apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured we have taken the appropriate measures to correct these flaws, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you a better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After being a guest here several times in the past, I returned last fall. Yes, the room was completely redone with all hard surfaces. I requested a quiet room, as I knew from the past, there could be noisy guests. While the first floor room was spacious, all the surfaces were hard creating an echo chamber. My walking in the room (wearing shoes) even seemed loud to me. I do not remember any wall decorations.

The TV assembly (with recessed overhead low lighting) was huge, hanging just over the HALF OF A TABLE (so it could be flush with the wall) and two hard metal and molded wood, chairs. Not one upholstered chair was included. The TV, over the half table, made sitting there to watch TV a neck craning experience just 6-10 inches away, and UP. I gave up on doing both. I am not sure if the half table would have stood on its own, had I chosen to pull it away from the wall into the center of the room. The "new" color scheme, for me was any thing but relaxing after a long day on the road. Okay if one enjoys bright a orange wall! and other orange accents! : ((

My two "roommates" NEXT DOOR, were two loud men whose conversation did not stop until after 1:30AM. Walls really need some sound proofing, and noise absorbers! Wish I had complained to the front desk, and might have received a discount to offset the lack of sleep.

I appreciate the motel's effort to update, and that is why I rated it three circles. But for a good night of rest, it rates one circle. The front desk clerk was nice. I think I had a mini fridge, and maybe a microwave, but unfortunately neither of those helped with the noise level, and color palette that might have provided more rest.

When I traveled on to the Mammoth Motel 6 the next day, the price was cheaper than Bishop!! Go figure that one! But their rooms had not been redone (yet?), and the carpeting helped with any potential noises. Room was much quieter there, and so was the room location.

Thinking I will stay at a different motel in Bishop next visit in September.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very sorry you were not able to get the amount of rest that you desired. At Motel 6 we hope to provide each guest with quality service and a clean, comfortable room. The new “Euro” style makes it much easier to insure that the room is cleaned and sanitized properly, and it is unfortunate that you were dissatisfied with the new design. Thank you again and we appreciate your input, as we continually strive to improve our guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The wood-paneled floor was very clean. I felt much cleaner than in rooms with a carpet. There was a microwave and refrigerator. It was a clean, comfortable room and I got a senior rate. It was exactly what I was looking for in a one-night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevis V, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Bishop, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are happy that you not only enjoyed your stay with us, but that you also liked our new and improved guest rooms. The laminated wood floors are easier to keep clean, and also very attractive. Thank you again for your positive remarks, and we look forward to seeing you again at our Motel 6 in Bishop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bishop

Address: 1005 North Main Street, US 395/US 6, north of SR 168/West Line Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bishop Hotel Bishop
Motel Six Bishop
Bishop Motel Six
Bishop Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.