We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Denny's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denny's

Denny's
1014 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2431
760-873-5656
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 50 Restaurants in Bishop
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Covina, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's a Denny's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nothing special, but if you want sit-down service in the late-night, this is one of few options. It's arguably the best option especially for families since you probably want to avoid the local bars and the (smoky) Paiute Casino.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food when you are out of town and want Denny's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you want great food while you are out of town, Denny's is the place for you,They have some great selections and plenty of desserts and all kinds of great things that also the kids will enjoy. I ate here years ago when I was younger and had a great time here. So for great food and a nice place to eat, Denny's is the place for you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful food and an uninterested waitress”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed overnight in Bishop and thought we'd give Denny's a go. It had a varied menu and we all had different things. The spaghetti and meatballs had dried up spaghetti which was horrid. They got bits of the order wrong and the waitress wasn't unfriendly but was the complete opposite to every other place we ate in in the USA. I don't think she really cared whether you were there or not!

The restaurant was pretty empty so I'm guessing not a high turnover of the food hence the dried up stuff.

We left the minimum tip and as a result didn't go near any other Denny's on the rest of our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Oddly, this Denny's is better than the rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

For some reason, the food at this Denny's tastes better than the average Denny's. It might be because we're super hungry after hiking but, time and time again, we're pleased with the food and the service at this location. It's not gourmet, but it's darn good road-trip, hiking reward food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Denny's no longer serves any rice, and I couldn't find an entrée that was suitable for my allergies, so I just had a grilled chicken salad for dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.