We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one night stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elms Motel

Elms Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Elms Motel to your Saves list
Elms Motel
233 East Elms Street, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for a one night stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for one night before travelling to Yosemite and booked last minute so was quite pricey. Room was good with cable tv. Bad point was the shower; the water dribbled onto me. Great car parking facilities which were directly outside the room. A freezer and ice are available.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I used to come to Bishop 40 years ago as a child and I've been visiting ever since. The Elms Motel is a delightful visit into a bygone traveling experience. The rooms are extremely quiet, clean, cozy, and delightful. The bed was very comfortable with good-quality linens. The setting is right next to a park and the motel has an actual lawn with lawn chairs and playground equipment. The managers are friendly and helpful, and you can't beat the price (literally) anywhere in town. Highly recommended if you appreciate a personalized lodging experience and enjoy helping local businesses instead of national chains.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and I assume similar in decor and facilities. Parking is at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed 3 days. Off the main street so it was pretty quiet. Continental breakfast. Parking right at your door made it convenient for off loading and loading. Very reasonably priced. Clean. Will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
478 reviews 478 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Since our cabin is snowed-in this time of the year, we stayed here for the weekend. The hotel was about the best price I could find and for two nights (Fri/Sat) it was only $123 total. We had room #8 which was right off the street, but was still quiet. The beds were comfortable and the continental breakfast must have improved as they had muffins, crumb cake, cereal, milk, coffee, orange juice and toast. For fishermen, they have a fish cleaning station as well as a large freezer that you can use to store your fish in. Motel has free-wifi as well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was finally something else than all the other motel style rooms we stayed in during our road trip. Rooms are in a block of 2 and the whole area looks nice. It's a little off the main street, so nice and quiet. At least we thought... The walls are very thin, so you hear everything that happens next door...

Room is 'a little' outdated, but pretty clean. There is a coffeemaker but no fridge. Bed is comfortable and shower worked well. Wifi worked in the room. Breakfast was pathetic. Better don't serve breakfast than this...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Convienient location for visiting Death Valley and Yosemite National Park.
Off the busy main road so quieter than some others in Bishop. Rooms are arranged in blocks of two with ample parking.
Standard motel room with free coffee and wi;fi, although toiletries were sparse.
Good selection of shops and restaurants nearby
Check in was fine although we did feel we were disturbing her (especially when I went back to get the Wi;fi code)
Breakfast was usual motel continental, a few pastries and coffee..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

To start off with the best part; the bed was comfortable. The price was also OK.
The negatives were that our room was next to some sort of boiler (which kept it going all trough the night and made sleeping very difficult). Our room was equipped with a large TV set, which was nice, if it only had been working. All we succeeded in getting was a message that the service was temporarily (?) out of order.
Our room came with a (allegedly) continental breakfast included. This was the sorriest excuse for a breakfast I have ever witnessed. A loaf of dry bread, 1 type of (something that proclaimed to be) jam, a pot of bad coffee and a few cereals leaves a bit to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elms Motel

Address: 233 East Elms Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.