We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room and dangerous electrical sockets” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
Thunderbird Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   190 W Pine Street, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
California, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty room and dangerous electrical sockets”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in room 15 during Mule Days. The bedding had a mattress pad zipped around it, probably due to past bed bug complaints. Clearly when we pulled the covers back someone had vomited down the side of the bed with the color of the stains down the side. Plus a few chunks on the floor. The pillows were likely from 1975 with blood stains and they were brown. They had sheets and pillow cases but I slept on my jacket instead. The blankets are the furry type with a picture on it that you would find at a swap meet. The washing machine was out side the rooms and there was no way to adequately wash the blankets or comforter in a house hold type of washer. The refrigerator plug was frayed and wires exposed. You had one working plug to use a blow dryer or coffee pot. The rest of the plugs in the room were blackened from being shorted. The coffee pot was filthy inside never been cleaned. We can stay just about anywhere but because of the prices and motels booked after seeing the room we were forced to stay the two days we booked. They could not find our reservations then told us that they found them and would charge us more for only staying the two nights. They do not use a computer and write reservations down on a note pad. We could not get out fast enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    6
    3
    15
See reviews for
6
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had to find a hotel last minute due to inclement weather while traveling on the road. At the time, the prices were very good compared to the prices this hotel offers now. The bed was small (For 2 people), and the shower was probably one of the smallest showers that I've been in. However we couldn't complain it served its purpose of sleeping and showering and we were on the road again.

The front desk folks at night should be a little more friendly.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lots of bed bugs, my buddy from work and myself got a room with two queen beds and both of us woke up with 30+ bites each, so both mattresses must have lots of them. Avoid this place - unless you work for pest control!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I wish I had 4 more hands so I could give this place 6 thumbs up. Big clean room, quiet, awesome water heat & pressure. They are very friendly too. Great location, easy stroll to breakfast at Jack's (awesome waffles), great coffee @ Looney's, all the gear u could need at Mac's sporting goods then head to Whiskey Creek for a great dinner & drinks. Always friendly in Bishop & that's why we keep coming back.

*If more that two people staying in the same room be sure to ask for extra towels, maybe just ask for extras anyway - they are kinda on the small side. Or maybe we're just big

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

You book a room for 50 USD + Tax and when you arrive they charge additional 8.5 USD as a reservation fee. The room is a equiped with very old appliances and very noisy A/C. The only positive thing I can say is it was fairly clean. Breakfast not worthwhile mentioning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We chose this motel because it was one of the cheapest in Bishop, CA so we didn't expect much. But it was just fine overall, the rooms were clean and came with A/C, small bathroom, TV and even a small fridge. The breakfast was "continental", which means coffee, cornflakes and milk plus these sweet, colorful rings you can add to your flakes. That is actually more than you will get in a Motel 6 (there was no pool, though) so we were happy with the motel. The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We weren't planning to spend the night in Bishop so it was a huge relief to find the motel. They didn't require a two or three night stay over the holiday weekend and the price was very reasonable. They provide very basic accommodations with parking right in front. The first room we tried had been a smoking room and the odor was still very strong. We were able to move to no smoking room luckily. The room came with a small refrigerator and a TV. We had a great shower although the room had only one bath towel. The toiletries were very basic -- a very small soap and shampoo in a foil packet. The woman at the front desk was very cordial and did her best to accommodate us. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast but it is a short walk to a coffee place on the corner, Jack's diner across the street and other Bishop restaurants and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 190 W Pine Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Thunderbird Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.