We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low price, central location, not special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
Thunderbird Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   190 W Pine Street, Bishop, CA 93514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Low price, central location, not special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We weren't planning to spend the night in Bishop so it was a huge relief to find the motel. They didn't require a two or three night stay over the holiday weekend and the price was very reasonable. They provide very basic accommodations with parking right in front. The first room we tried had been a smoking room and the odor was still very strong. We were able to move to no smoking room luckily. The room came with a small refrigerator and a TV. We had a great shower although the room had only one bath towel. The toiletries were very basic -- a very small soap and shampoo in a foil packet. The woman at the front desk was very cordial and did her best to accommodate us. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast but it is a short walk to a coffee place on the corner, Jack's diner across the street and other Bishop restaurants and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    5
    3
    13
See reviews for
5
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Passing through and was able to get a room at a good price. Good for a one night stay!
Staff was good, seem to be a quiet area. Laundry mat close by. Parking light can get tight for a small vehicle. Older hotel but just right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Low prices. Clean. Slightly off US 395 for a little more peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

After booking the motel, we found out from some of the reviews about bed bugs, which made us worry. However, our two queen beds room was clean, and we didn’t have problem with bed bugs. The room has microwave, coffee maker, fridge, and the beds were comfortable. The location is a block off the main street, which is quiet and convenient. It’s a basic motel with a good value.

Things we don’t like:

We were charged $8 booking fee since we booked through Expedia. So if you want to book this motel, better call them directly to avoid the fee.

About the complimentary breakfast: We were told the breakfast will be served at 7 am, however, at 7:15 still no breakfast served. We had to leave without having the breakfast. So don’t count on the complimentary breakfast if you want to leave early.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelan, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Thunderbird was EXACTLY what we were looking for: an inexpensive hotel room, used just for a place to sleep on our mini-vacation to Bishop. We weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel -- we needed a clean, decent place to rest and shower in between our hiking and biking adventures. The Thunderbird was PERFECT. It was tidy and clean, the bathroom amenities were nice to see, and there were enough towels for both of us to shower, twice. The office staff was very friendly and helpful, and they even had a small fireworks show in the parking lot on the 4th of July. We felt like family -- people smiled and greeted us, noticed when we took our bikes out and remarked when we arrived back safely. Really, best of all it was a clean place with very firm beds... gave us two GOOD night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for non-snoking for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Motels in the area are over-pricey. It was late at night (10 pm is late to these motel keepers), most places were twice the money, if they were even open or answering inquiries. The lady at the desk was kind and helpful, didn't charge me for my dog, and gave us an unsolicited discount for taking two rooms.

It was a nice, clean, quiet motel- on this trip of 3000 miles, it was exactly what we needed and one of the best motels of the entire trip. Not a grand hotel or great motel, just a very clean basic motel.

I took advantage of the large bathtub, which was a huge plus. Plus there was a nice, basic complimentary continental breakfast- juices, danishes, fruit, you know.

Room Tip: Upstairs, eastern part of the motel. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosamond, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Booked through Expedia for the cheaper rate...the motel charged me $10 more per night to book through Expedia, then charged another $22 in fees. I asked why and was told that they needed to make up the difference for the fees they paid through Expedia!! If I had known that they charged more through expedia, I would have simply called them directly! People were not friendly, and left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing. I'll stay elsewhere next year!

Room Tip: Call before going through a travel site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 190 W Pine Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Thunderbird Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.