We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bishop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Townhouse Motel
Save
You added Townhouse Motel to your Saves list
625 N Main St, Bishop, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Henderson, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

we rented 3 rooms here for all our family members
1st room - toilote was broken bathroom was dirty and drains could use a scub would not even take a shower in that shower wearing sandels (yuck)
2nd room- had long hair in bedding all over pillows and sheets again bathrooms were dusty and not clean
3rd room-after seeing other rooms we tore bedding off and matress were full of dirt and what appeared to be bedbugs..

needless to say we packed back up and ran to another hotel ..
i can understand that it is old and didnt expect it to be filled with all new things but come on you need to clean the rooms ....i would not stay there even if they paid me too

Room Tip: go to motel 6 they are great and a better value for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
9
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I had stayed at the Townhouse everytime i had gone to Bishop since i was 10. I go back because i like to patron the same places. It's a good place and i would go back if my new pic, The El Rancho was full. It's not fancy, it's basic. But on my last trip i recieved a room with curved beds. Curved beds means you are too cheap on many occasions to get new bedding.Even for a motor lodge, this is a basic necessity. I have never had any issue other than bad beds, so check the room before you pay! Other than that, very nice people. Never saw a bug. Good spot, just check the beds.

Room Tip: Also, i'd say dont get a room that has a second floor above it. Based on how old the hotel is it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We picked this motel because it looked like a neat family-owned place from the outside. However, the place is terribly rundown. We had no TV remote, the mattress was fixed with duct-tape, the carpet was torn, lots of cracks in the walls and the door wouldn't close unless you actually locked it. In addition the cleaning was not well done. We even found an empty soda can and a fist-size dust ball under the bed. The linens however were clean.
We slept terribly, because of the noisy fridge in the room - we didn't even dare to turn on the AC.
I wouldn't recommend staying here at all.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I enjoyed it because it was small, well priced and the staff was very friendly. If you want lavash, I would suggest avoiding Bishop altogether, but if you want a nice quiet town in the beautiful eastern Sierra's, you're in luck. If I were to stop in Bishop again I would love to stay at the Townhouse again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, AZ
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The hotel is in need of TLC. It has been a landmark for many years - had guests like Clint Eastwood and John Wayne. The deck around the pool area was cracked as well as the tile in the pool. The shower in our room had broken and missing tiles. The furniture was scratched and worn. The flower beds were full of weeds.
Needs new owners who care!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I have stayed at the Town House for 13 of the 16 years going to the Sierra's for the annual trout opener. The other times I didn't, I regretted it. The motel isn't new and doesn't have all the fancy trimmings, but it has friendly owners, good service, and great prices. The rooms are comfortable, you do get cable and wireless internet, and you stay at a place that values your business. The motel itself has a very storied history. During the 50's and 60's, almost all westerns were filmed in the local area and the Town House was a favorite for John Wayne, John Ford, and Yvonne DiCarlo. The rooms they stayed in were named after them. In all the years I've stayed there, the prices have only risen about $10 per night, usually in the $55-65 range, alittle more for the larger rooms that hold more people. I have no plans to stay anywhere else as long as the motel is in business and locally owned.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Motel

Address: 625 N Main St, Bishop, CA
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are $55 singles $65 doubles $75 triple A chalet style motel. Under new management. Currently being renovated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.