We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Motel to your Saves list
Mountain View Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   730 W Line St., Bishop, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What you pay is what you get. The room was huge and with a very big bed. Everything was clean, so a perfect spot for one night. I would recommend it for sure. Staff was nice and there is a continental breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    28
    20
    22
See reviews for
13
42
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The place offered everything we were looking for: good rate, quiet, clean, courteous. We have stayed here several times because of these reasons. The pool and morning breakfast with juice and coffee are a bonus. No, it's not a 5-star location, but neither is the rate. The furnishing may be a bit outdated but everything works. The room and linens were clean and that's what matters to me.

Room Tip: We like the downstairs rooms so we can park right outside our door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Correct motel to stay for one night. Room was outdated but clean and beds should be replaced. During summer, you can see a beautiful sunrise from the balcony. Free breakfast was appreciated. I would not spend an entire trip there but that's okay for a late stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The motel needs a proper renovation! The romm had a distinct smell to it. Adding to a bad room-experience was the dark green/brown furnishing. The motel offers a breakfast, but this is very limited. Also the outside of the motel looks very worn-out. However, the service was excellent, with very friendly staff. Unfortunately, this is not sufficient to compensate an overall bad impression

Room Tip: Do not select a room... It smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuna, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My family had been staying at the Mountain View since the early 70's it was a wonderful place for a family to stay for the week or two every summer. However I had not been there in about 20 years . On our way to So Cal. last year we stopped at the Mountain View for the night and it was not the place it once was. It seems to be rundown, the rooms are nice for one night but not for the long stay, The staff while polite isn't friendly as the older couple that once owned it. I don't know about Wifi I am on vacation electronics are turned off. The place has a smell I cant determine and there appears to be no staff but those is the front office. I know all things change but this change is not for the better. Bishop was a destination for the family vacation this motel was family ran, family worked it had a personality of the Swiss couple that owned it and there children helped run. You felt welcome there. This is not the case now . Oct 2009

Room Tip: Room in the far right rear corner lower floor is still the best if you are with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My fiance and I make an overnight mid-tour stop in Bishop if we are heading to southern California. I've stayed at a couple of places in Bishop, and this place served its purpose for what we needed: Sleep and a shower.

The bed was pretty comfortable and the room was small but clean. The room overall is a little run down/old, but I don't care about that so much so long as it is habitable.

The parking lot was a little small but we were able to find a spot near our room (Tip: Back your car into the spot so it's easy to get out of the establishment).

Location is pretty good, it is off a street that's off of the main drag. We were able to get to Schatt's another another dining destination within minutes.

The price was the lowest of all the hotel locations, so if that happens to be the case the next time we travel down to Bishop, we wouldn't mind staying back here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs is more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.3 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 21 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#15 of 21 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 21 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#6 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Address: 730 W Line St., Bishop, CA
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious and comfortable with all modern conveniences, including individually controlled air conditioning and heat, a small refrigerator and Cable TV with remote control. You enjoy fresh-brewed morning coffee with free continental breakfast in our breakfast room where you will also find a microwave for your convenience.For the fishermen we provide a fish-cleaning/freezing facility. Ample boat and trailer parking is available for your use. We also offer kitchen units and kitchen suites. These units are fully equipped with microwave, coffee maker, stove/oven, refrigerator, sink, pots and pans and utensils - as well as dining table and chairs. In addition, our kitchen suites offer a separate bedroom with a King or Queen bed and living room with 2 comfortable full-sized futons.We have a sparkling swimming pool for your enjoyment, a picnic area with gas BBQ and lawn seating areas. You can relax in a garden setting with beautiful roses blooming and enjoy the view and our Western antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.