We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Motel

Save Saved
You added Mountain View Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain View Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   730 W Line St., Bishop, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Correct motel to stay for one night. Room was outdated but clean and beds should be replaced. During summer, you can see a beautiful sunrise from the balcony. Free breakfast was appreciated. I would not spend an entire trip there but that's okay for a late stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    20
    11
    17
See reviews for
9
33
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The motel needs a proper renovation! The romm had a distinct smell to it. Adding to a bad room-experience was the dark green/brown furnishing. The motel offers a breakfast, but this is very limited. Also the outside of the motel looks very worn-out. However, the service was excellent, with very friendly staff. Unfortunately, this is not sufficient to compensate an overall bad impression

Room Tip: Do not select a room... It smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuna, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My family had been staying at the Mountain View since the early 70's it was a wonderful place for a family to stay for the week or two every summer. However I had not been there in about 20 years . On our way to So Cal. last year we stopped at the Mountain View for the night and it was not the place it once was. It seems to be rundown, the rooms are nice for one night but not for the long stay, The staff while polite isn't friendly as the older couple that once owned it. I don't know about Wifi I am on vacation electronics are turned off. The place has a smell I cant determine and there appears to be no staff but those is the front office. I know all things change but this change is not for the better. Bishop was a destination for the family vacation this motel was family ran, family worked it had a personality of the Swiss couple that owned it and there children helped run. You felt welcome there. This is not the case now . Oct 2009

Room Tip: Room in the far right rear corner lower floor is still the best if you are with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My fiance and I make an overnight mid-tour stop in Bishop if we are heading to southern California. I've stayed at a couple of places in Bishop, and this place served its purpose for what we needed: Sleep and a shower.

The bed was pretty comfortable and the room was small but clean. The room overall is a little run down/old, but I don't care about that so much so long as it is habitable.

The parking lot was a little small but we were able to find a spot near our room (Tip: Back your car into the spot so it's easy to get out of the establishment).

Location is pretty good, it is off a street that's off of the main drag. We were able to get to Schatt's another another dining destination within minutes.

The price was the lowest of all the hotel locations, so if that happens to be the case the next time we travel down to Bishop, we wouldn't mind staying back here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs is more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

45 Minutes into the appointment, I KNEW this aspect of a business trip turned into a disaster.

When I learned of the URL, I had to check it out.

I'm glad I did. This place was not at all bad. Comfortable, glean and superb WiFi access (although it is not wired for 21st century business in that there were no available plugs near the desk.) I got a great deal on it and really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Let me start by saying their website is hilarious and you should stay here based on that alone - thebestmotelever . com

We had been camping (in Winter) so were so happy to be staying indoors, somewhere warm. The WiFi was good, the room was comfortable, clean and cheap. The owner was friendly. Have no complaints, this is a great place if you're after budget accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

this was the last day/night of our trip (ghost town adventures) before heading home. A great place to stay no frills but very clean, comfortable and quiet. The room has a fridge and there is a continental breakfast (cold cereal, muffins, toast, juice and coffee). There are many places to eat around Bishop and things to see and do. If you are traveling the 395 and need a pace for a night with a reasonable price go to the Mountain View. Very friendly staff......... you will be pleased.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Address: 730 W Line St., Bishop, CA
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious and comfortable with all modern conveniences, including individually controlled air conditioning and heat, a small refrigerator and Cable TV with remote control. You enjoy fresh-brewed morning coffee with free continental breakfast in our breakfast room where you will also find a microwave for your convenience.For the fishermen we provide a fish-cleaning/freezing facility. Ample boat and trailer parking is available for your use. We also offer kitchen units and kitchen suites. These units are fully equipped with microwave, coffee maker, stove/oven, refrigerator, sink, pots and pans and utensils - as well as dining table and chairs. In addition, our kitchen suites offer a separate bedroom with a King or Queen bed and living room with 2 comfortable full-sized futons.We have a sparkling swimming pool for your enjoyment, a picnic area with gas BBQ and lawn seating areas. You can relax in a garden setting with beautiful roses blooming and enjoy the view and our Western antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Bishop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.