We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the greasy spoon lover” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Waffle Shop

Jack's Waffle Shop
437 N. Main Street, Bishop, CA
(760) 872-7671
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“For the greasy spoon lover”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Jack's is charming in its quaintness -- if only the food were edible. There are some safe bets, like eggs and burgers, or a cold mug of beer and french fries but I wouldn't go for anything more complicated. I ordered a simple grilled cheese sandwich and it wasn't good. My boyfriend said his veggie burger was decent. They bake their own goods and their 12-grain rolls and bread are excellent. The service is very friendly, making a mediocre eating experience more bearable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    68
    31
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooked Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is just what you would expect from an old western town. It has been around since the 1940s and it looks like it. The food is good and the beer is cold.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“I was warned it had changed... It has!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This used to be a must do and now I wouldn't send an enemy.
Worn out, server, decore, manager. Corn beef hash was runny and over medium eggs with oozing, translucent albumen. Cold toast and cheap pectin jelly,hotel room coffee. Gross.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved Jack's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family visited Jack's for lunch recently on a trip to Mammoth. It was as good as we remembered - everyone enjoyed their food. The pumpkin muffin was huge - and delicious. Hamburgers were great, service by Terri was outstanding. Thanks! We once lived here for 2 years and so it was fun to find something that hadn't changed too much.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Um, well, I wish we had gone somewhere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is kind of what you might expect in a small town - cooks are average, service is average, entire thing just felt like they didn't care about us because htey knew they'd never see us again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Waffle Shop also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Waffle Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Waffle Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.