We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weary traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bristlecone Manor Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Bristlecone Manor Motel to your Saves list
Bristlecone Manor Motel
101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weary traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A beautiful ride south from Winnemucca and nowhere is there lodging to be found in Bishop CA or even a Jacob's pillow for the Weary traveler. Twenty miles south of Bishop is a little town (spot in the road) called Big Pine. A lovely motel can be found called the Bristlecone motel. Dead tired I was afraid of something from the 50s and feared it hadn't been cleaned since then. I checked in at the gas station and was informed they had just one room left. I reserved the room sight unseen and very apprehensive. What a pleasant surprise! The staff is pleasant, friendly and helpful. The room has a fairly large bed room with a table to set up the electronics including wifi. Their wifi was better than my 4G hotspot thank goodness. The bathroom is large and holds the refrigerator and microwave which worked great. My wife turned the A/C on high and we forgot about it after turning in for a desperately needed sleep. About 4AM the poor over worked AC froze up waking us up to a very warm room. Fortunately turning off the AC helped it to defrost quickly it worked fine thereafter. The room is very clean, the bed is also very comfortable and a good night sleep was had enjoyed. No free breakfast for us city slickers but the restaurant recommended just down the road was fabulous. This motel must be great for the young both in spirit and in shape. All our neighbors had backpacks and could hardly wait to hit the trails up the Eastern Sierra Madras. Ah to be young. For those passing through and needing rest this is right spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Second trip here. A little long in the tooth, but in a perfect location. We allways travel up for camping. We found the store and out of curiousity looked at some of the rooms. My wife thought the place was cute. So the next year we made a reservation and stayed. Not to bad for the price. We made a reservation this year and the room we got was better. So, hey, I like the place. Not 5 Star, but perfect for why we come. THUMBS UP! Oh yeah, they have free internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Its not fancy, but it's clean, close to all the local sights, and very friendly. The bathrooms are nice and large too. I booked at the last minute (got the last available room) and we just stayed one night, but were very happy with the price, the service and the proximity to the Sierras as well as the White Mountains with the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest. Quieter and better priced than the motels in Bishop. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was really impressed with our little room at this little motel. It had two full-sized beds and a twin bed, a full kitchen, cool bathroom with large shower, and a flat screen television. The internet was really spotty and the room smelled a little smoky when we entered. We really enjoyed are time there. The bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in.

Room Tip: I think it was worth paying extra for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Simple, quiet and laid back. I've stayed at fancy hotels but this was great. Better price than hotels in Bishop. Looks pretty normal outside but very nice rooms, extra large with full kitchen and a table four can easily sit at. There are two beds and a single bed in the corner which my granddaughter claimed as hers. Recently remodeled and has vaulted ceiling and lots of wood, Reminds one of a mountain cabin. Owner said originally there were cabins and someone built in between and made more rooms. AC was near kitchen and did not blow on beds as most do nowadays. For some reason all the people in other rooms were friendly and all said hello and wanted to talk; at most hotels others won't even look you in the eye let alone say hello. Gas pumps and grocery and hardware store attached. Nice home style eatery right next door. Pet friendly and great neighborhood to walk dog in. Staff friendly and helpful. Will stay again when traveling in area.

Room Tip: Was told rooms are different sizes and not all have full kitchen, so ask questions when booking to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very clean and comfortable motel. We come up for fishing every year, and enjoy the ability to rent Room #20 with its kitchen. Can tell they have changed out the beds and updated the bathroom. Do bring your own toiletries though -- there are bars of soap and that's about it. Also, if you plan to use the kitchen, bring some dish soap and paper towels. And a pot or two, if that's your thing. They've got enough skillets for most cooking. Would like to see the BBQ cleaned out LOL.

Don't expect the Ritz -- it's not that kind of place. Quiet and comfy describes it for me. Friendly people are a plus. The gas station has everything you'll need and then some. For the price, it's hard to beat.

Room Tip: Room 20 for sure if you want a kitchenette, believe 23 also has a kitchen. Stay away from the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are travelling on a very tight budget and Bristlecone is exceptional value for money. Staff were friendly and service was great. The room offered more space for our family (2 adults, 2 teenagers) than other places had, and everything we needed was supplied. It is not fancy, or gilt edged, but plain comfortable and homely. It was exactly what we needed for a great price. We would recommend it for any family, especially travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristlecone Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Manor Motel

Address: 101 North Main, Hwy 395, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bristlecone Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Manor Hotel Big Pine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristlecone Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.