We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Motel, But Clean and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Motel

Starlight Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Starlight Motel
Save Saved
You added Starlight Motel to your Saves list
511 S Main St, Big Pine, CA 93513   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Older Motel, But Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here one night over the Memorial Day weekend due to an "accidental" cancellation of a reservation at another motel down the road. Smaller rooms, definitely built in the 50's, but had a nice flat screen TV and comfortable beds. Small bathroom and shower, but served its purpose. Seems like a motel you'd fine on old Route 66! Not a lot going on in Big Pine, but a convenient place to stay for a trip into Death Valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This motel is located along the Eastern Sierra mountains, on Hwy. 395 south of Bishop, CA. It is an older place but very well cared for. The landscaping was quite nice and made this an inviting overnight stop. The rooms aren't all that large, but not a closet either. The bathrooms were well maintained and everything was especially clean and tidy. They looked like new but were as old as the motel, probably back into the 50's, but well maintained. Sort of a retro look.

I was towing a small utility trailer with a canoe and when I explained my situation the manager said that I could unhook it and park it in a space adjacent to where I parked the vehicle. The manager was extremely helpful and nice with me about it. Another place just said "no trailers" and turned me away. There were convenient posts supporting the porch that I could chain the trailer up to to prevent its "wandering off". I doubt that would have really been a problem though. Big Pine is a small town and doesn't seem to have much of a crime problem.

There is satellite television with the usual complement of channels and something for everyone. But with the surroundings, why sit at the room watching TV? The Eastern Sierra mountains have to be one of the most spectacular sights in Western America.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely! The price was fair and less than I would have expected in Bishop, which is only a few miles to the north. The town is pretty quiet and the motel especially so.

Room Tip: For an overnight stay, this is a good choice. Rates are reasonable, service was great and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norther Central PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't know what this place is like and I don't care if I never find out. My husband and I were on a 3 week, cross country road trip with our daughter and 3 of our grandchildren. Never knowing where we would be on a particular day, we didn't make reservations for lodging until several hours before we expected to arrive at a particular place. My daughter called the Starlight Motel to ask a few questions..such as price, if they had accommodations for 6, amenities...etc.....and I guess the desk clerk could not be bothered answering her questions. She was asking the third and final question and he hung up on her. That upset me. It was rude. So this review is rated by how we were treated on the telephone. I know nothing about the accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Do not recommend this place at all!! WAY overpriced for what you are getting . . . Rooms are dirty and bed stunk. Do not disturb sign does not mean anything to this place. A/C loud and kept getting turned off when we would leave room. Would come back to a HOT room. Bare bones place charging high end prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My first disappointment was that they offered no decaf coffee - not in the room or in the lobby. My second disappointment was that when we asked for extra pillows the owner was not happy. He sighed and said he "would have to look for them." My third disappointment was the bathroom- an old sink and stall shower. There was a fish cleaning sink right around the corner from our room and an old styrofoam cooler on the ground. Not sure I would want to stay here even if I had been fishing all day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times over the years on our way to Yosemite or Death Valley. It's clean and nice and easy to park the motorcycle in front of the room to unload. We paid $75 for a Saturday night on a three-day weekend. We got up in the morning and had a great ride up to the Ancient Bristlecone Pines in the White Mountains (It is a fantastic ride for you motorcycle enthusiasts!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was a good place and family that runs really nice. The Starlight is older but very, very clean and bed comfortable. They surprised me by having wireless connection! I was even able to borrow a blow dryer from the owner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel

Address: 511 S Main St, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel Big Pine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.