We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Motel

Starlight Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Starlight Motel
Save Saved
You added Starlight Motel to your Saves list
511 S Main St, Big Pine, CA 93513   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, clean place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was a good place and family that runs really nice. The Starlight is older but very, very clean and bed comfortable. They surprised me by having wireless connection! I was even able to borrow a blow dryer from the owner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

It's hard for me to fairly rate motels along US395, I'm finding. At least during the summer, they are all overpriced compared to comparable motels elsewhere. The Starlight Motel is a basic place with cinderblock walls, but it was clean and comfortable and met our need to be near the road to the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest so we could get an early start. Mild downsides were the relatively high price ($72/night, I think it was), the WiFi key was not written down in the room and it was too late to wake the management to get it (be sure to ask for it when you check in!), and a lack of available outlets (for charging all the electronic devices that two people carry with them, these days). But I'm giving it 4 stars, because overall it was fine and it turned out it wasn't close to the highest-priced comparable place we stayed at along the route.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've stayed here twice, and we've been quite satisfied with our stay each time. It's a very simple "road trip" type stop-off motel, but it serves its purpose well. There are only a handful of rooms, but you will probably not have a hard time getting a room if necessary. The rooms are basic, but have all the things you'd probably like or need, including a fridge, microwave, comfy bed, AC (very important in Big Pine!), and new flat screen TV's. The building is a brick building with brick walls, so you will rarely hear your neighbors. If this place was in a more touristy area, I'm sure these rooms would cost twice as much.

Why would you stay in Big Pine? Well first of all, it's cheaper than staying in Bishop, the nearest "big" town. If you are a hiker/backpacker, it's a nice place to stay if you are coming back from the mountains (the Big Pine Creek area has a lot of nice areas to hike/backpack). I will continue to stay here when I visit the Eastern Sierra mountains.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Our family has been coming to Big Pine for several years in the spring and fall to fish in the area. The motel we keep coming back to is the Starlight. Keep in mind, this is Big Pine, not a large metropolitan area with four-star hotels, great restaurants and a night life. Viewing the motel in that light, the Starlight is always very clean and very quiet (for being on Highway 395). The rooms are basic, but the owners have begun to renovate. Some rooms now have a flat screen TV and new flooring, plus new paint inside and out. The rooms also have refrigerators and coffee makers. The place caters to hunters and fishermen, so there is a large freezer and fish cleaning area on site. The motel also has an nice shared patio area with BBQ and two nice grass areas to relax and have an evening cocktail or two. My only complaint over the years has been the lack of an ice machine. Ice is doled out in small buckets, so we usually come armed with our own ice. Also, the owners are not always in, so if you leave a message to make a reservation, be sure to follow-up. That said, over the years we have never had a mistake in our reservations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelan, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I have been staying at the Starlight Motel in Big Pines since the early 80s. Rather than camp, when I go hunting in that area, I prefer to stay at the Starlight. The rooms are always clean, quiet and the TVs work just fine. There is good dining near (enough)by.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

This is a 15 room, vintage strip, mom and pop motel. It has cinderblock walls and green and pink tile in the shower. This room was spotless!! Cleanest toliet we had seen in a long time. It comes with free wifi and a refrigerator. Our room key was taped to the office door when we got there and our reciept in the room so it is a little hard to rate the office staff. He was there when we needed to know the internet password. The beds are very springy and the furniture is older. The ice is in a chest type freezer and is bagged up in little buckets.
If you like a vintage place to stay, you will like the Starlight. If not, you better make reservations somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We decided to stay at this motel in Big Pine after reading the positive reviews. We travel a lot and usually stay at budget hotels, this was substantially below our expectations.
Our friends traveling with us were unable to get last minute reservations anywhere in Big Pine. So we asked the Starlight management if they could stay in our room. The management charged them $65 per person, a total rip off. I guess management knew that there wasn't another room available in fifty miles so they took extreme advantage of the situation. That brought the total for the room to $140 per night!
A few of the problems during our stay:
The air conditioner stopped working each night. We awoke sweating several times in the middle of the night to fiddle with the controls until it cycled back on again. it made a buzzing noise and stopped working all together on the last hot muggy night and morning of our stay.
The door know inside the bathroom didn't work and it required all kinds of effort to get the door opened.
There was one kitchen chair in our room, nothing else. We had to bring cheap plastic lawn chairs from the patio into the room to sit on.
The Wifi ran slow and dropped out constantly while using my Mac laptop. The router with two antenna was directly outside our door.
The day before we left, room service merely put new towels in the bathroom, they didn't change the sheets or make the beds.
We talked briefly to a man on the property about the air conditioner and he tried to tell us that we had the wrong settings on the control panel! NOT TRUE.
No ice in the utility room that had a sign with the words "Ice" on the door.

A terrible experience that ruined our holiday. I would not recommend this motel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlight Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel

Address: 511 S Main St, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Pine
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel Big Pine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.