We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Lodge
Save
You added Glacier Lodge to your Saves list
11 Miles West of Hwy 395, PO Box 307, Big Pine, CA 93513   |  
Hotel amenities
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I decided to give this rating because I think overall, it's overpriced for what you get. I will start with the positive...location and service, I would give 4 stars. Nice and peaceful with the stream close by and lots of deer. A nice place to escape the heat and get that mountain experience. The owner was very friendly and we ordered food the first night and she brought it to our cabin. Everything tasted great!
We decided on a cabin because I didn't want to walk to the restroom in the middle of the night. The cabin was rustic and pretty basic but the.bedding, towels, toilet, shower were clean, everything else was good enough if you're not to picky.

Now on to the negative.....Price, $125 a night for 2 people and $20 for each additional person and $15 per dog. I missed the boat on thinking the charges for extra people/dogs was a one time charge. It's per night!. No plug-ins so don"t bring your electric shaver or hair dryer etc...Only the hot water faucet worked in bathroom. Outside the cabin, instead of smelling clean mountain air, we smelled septic system everytime a breeze came up about mid morning on. Had to keep the windows closed so the cabin wouldn"t stink. In the evening around the campfire, just breathed through our mouths when the order was bad. We just had to sit around the campfire and roast marshmellows, so we put up with it! No room service, so we had to clean and sweep out the cabin. You would think you wouldn't have to do that when paying that amount. Pick-up after yourself but sweep the whole place?

Overall, I feel that it was way overpriced for what you got. I will not be staying in a cabin again unless the prices come way down. I think if you can tolerate it, a tent with all the essentials for camping would be just as nice and wouldn't cost nearly as much. There are a few nice campgrounds in the area with toilets and showers. Of course, in the fall and winter it wouldn"t be as warm, so it may be worth it then to get a warm cabin. Another alternative....you can get a nice hotel room in Bishop and just make day trips for hiking and fishing. You wouldn"t have to sweep out your room that way.:o)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The cabins are one of the best ways to get acclimatized if you plan on doing some high altitude hiking as you sleep at 7,800 feet. Each day, we felt stronger. The cabins are indeed "basic", but the shower is hot, there is lots of room, and the full kitchen allowed us to make our own big breakfasts and easily assemble dinner after long day hikes. The two main trails lead to some of the most stunning lakes and views in the Sierras. And when it rained during the early evening return from our hike, we were so glad we weren't camping!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

we loved the fact that the cabin has journals for the guests to write in and write about there experience, it was nice to read about the past guests that date back many years. the cabin is real cozy and loved the fact that there is a full kitchen to have home cooked meals that you can't get from staying in a hotel. the squirls are very friendly.....well take a look at the picture, very cute :-) It was a 5 hour drive from back home in Las Vegas but well worth it. the hiking is amazing and has a nice water fall. you can hear the stream running from your cabin with the windows open. Kathy was a wonderful host, very nice and its like you have known her for years even though you just meant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights. The "old school" cabins were warm, comfortable and clean. I felt I was back in the thirties. Kathy, the owner, worked hard to make our visit the best it could be. She fixed to order,delicious dinners for my wife and and I. After a long days hike she even brought dinner to our cabin. Location was breathtaking.

Room Tip: Call ahead and discuss the accomodations with Kathy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We usually camp at the nearby campground in the summer. However, we decided to go on a late season fishing trip and the weather was getting a little too cold for us to stay in a tent.
Staying in one of the lodge's cabins was a perfect solution. The cabin was perfect for us. We fished during the day and had a comfortable place to fix dinner (trout) and enjoy the beautiful Sierra. Each cabin also has a fire ring just off the porch area. So, even though we were staying in a cabin, we got to enjoy a nice campfire each evening. Plus, it provided a great place to cook our steaks.
The cabins aren't luxurious. But, they are comfortable and clean. And, a great alternative to camping when the weather gets too cold.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at the Glacier Lodge in July to hike the North and South Fork of the Big Pine Creek. The traill head is right at the door of the Glacier Lodge so it was the perfect location. Like most of the other lodges I have been to in the Eastern Sierra's this place is not fancy, in fact it is quite rustic. But, the bed was comfortable, it was clean, and the scenery was unbelievable. Our one bedroom cabin had a living room/dining room and a tiny kitchen with a charming assortment of odd pans and dishes. Out back we had a BBQ/fire pit and picnic table where we ate our breakfast, dinner, and toasted s'mores under the stars.
I would recommend the Glacier Lodge to hikers and fishing enthusiasts who want to stay where the action is without camping. Yes it is more expensive than the boring motels in Bishop but I think it is well worth the cost to be in the midst of the glorious Sierras.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Pine
17.0 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 21 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
16.4 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#7 of 21 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
16.9 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#8 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
16.5 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 21 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bristlecone Manor Motel
Bristlecone Manor Motel
#2 of 3 in Big Pine
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Address: 11 Miles West of Hwy 395, PO Box 307, Big Pine, CA 93513
Location: United States > California > Big Pine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Big Pine
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Big Pine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.