We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another chain....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
High Street, Findon BN14 0SX, England
+44 1903 872301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Findon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $60 - $109
Cuisines: International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in Findon, just outside of Worthing, The Black Horse is part of the small Mountain Range chain. Known for their combination of warm welcome, traditional surroundings and great food, the Mountain Range pub-restaurants have made quite a name for themselves locally. The Black Horse is tastefully decorated to compliment original features with stone fireplaces and cosy leather seating, all of which hint at the ski chalet inspired menu that has earned this restaurant its excellent reputation. The delicious Mountain Range sharing platter gives just a hint of what is to come ��� plates heaped with locally sourced, seasonal food livened with an international, mountain themed flavour, inspiration taken from the Alps, Rockies, Himalayas and beyond.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just another chain....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The food is awful as was the attitude of our waiter. I ordered a rib eye steak, grilled veg and buttered crushed new potatoes....I received a rubber steak with boiled veggies and boiled potatoes ... None of it was tasty. My partner received dried out pork roast which had been sitting under the lamps too long. The steak was £16 and it worth 3. When the waiter asked how the meal was I told him ... He returned to say the chef said 'there is nothing he can do about the quality of the meat and perhaps it would have been better if cooked on the hot rock'. I will not be going back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    48
    34
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Some different and interesting menu choices - a nice change for pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have eaten here twice in the past month and have been pleasantly surprised by this chain pub (albeit only a chain of three) with some interesting dishes on the extensive menu.

I would highly recommend the goats cheese on figs with leaves and pesto to start and the cheese tartefelle for main.

Great food, reasonably priced and good service.

The only things that let the place down slightly were:

on two freezing cold spring evenings there were no fires lit, despite two open hearths in the pub - this would have added a lovely cosy feel that was severely lacking;

and the whole place has a slightly shabby, 'requiring a makeover' feel.

Tasty fare though and highly recommended for the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Memories of Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Called in here on the off chance Easter Saturday lunchtime. Luckily they had a table left. We used to visit a few years back but it seemed to have lost its way. Was very pleasantly surprised to find a hot rocks choice on the menu. First sampled these in Algarve last year. Cooking your own meat/veg on hot rocks to your own taste is great fun and the meat served in small slices (as opposed to whole steaks in Algarve) was ideal. Very tasty indeed. Extremely good value with polite and pleasant staff!! Well done, we will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, W. Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Modern twist on an old pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

One of just a few Mountain Range Restaurants with good value for money and a loyalty card.Handy to find just off the A 24

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Destination Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Having just moved to Sussex from London in November I've been looking for a decent place to eat for awhile. I think this may be it. Eaten here a couple of times on weekday evenings when it's peaceful and you can have a decent conversation with the table. We decided to go on sat 9th march for a meal with friends and the place was buzzing. We walked in and the bar area was full with pre dinner drinkers. Greeted almost immediately by the host/manageress who sat us at our table and organise drinks. Service was efficient and attentive, our young waitress actually found the time to share a few jokes with our table....most restaurants don't manage a smile these days. Ribs to die for and a very good quality fillet steak, small problem with another main but the manager came over and he sorted that in seconds. Really can't fault this place and in these hard economic times its nice to know your money is well spent. We will definitely be back for some cheese fondue on a cold night.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Findon, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Wych Cross, East Sussex
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.