We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap easy thrill ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain

Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain
800 Wildrose Lane, CA 92315
909 866 4626
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Year round family recreation area. The Alpine Slide attraction is California's only authentic bobsled ride. Take a scenic chairlift ride to the top, then hop on a specially designed sled and control your own speed down a 1/4 mile long track. In the summer enjoy our refreshing double Water Slide and in the winter tube on our Snow Play hill with Magic Carpet uphill lift. We also offer Go-Karts and an 18 hole miniature golf course. Our newly renovated building has plenty of indoor seating and an expanded snack bar. An outdoor patio, Water Slide deck and many grass areas allow for plenty of relaxing. Parents pay only if you play!
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“cheap easy thrill ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

if you want a quick and cheap way to have a quick thrill in big bear without the expense and time of skiing - try the slides. you can go slower if you're nervous, or push forward to rocket down the cement track.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    43
    17
    1
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
“Terrible!! 90% t waiting.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had children and wanted to take them to a place where they could play with snow... This is not the place. This was mainly tubbing and the queues were so long that we arrived at 9:00 and only sled down 3 times!!! We left at 3:00!!! We were there the weekend after president's week.
Queue for parking, super queue for paying. They only accept cash!!!!! Queue for the ATM machine. Queue for getting the tube, queue for going up, queue for going down!!! Queue for lunch!! For the bathroom!!!
There is also sledding but you pay separate. Sledding is not ON snow but a sled on a cement track bulit on the slope.!!!! We thought that was not flexible for the kids to feel they are having fun and playing. For that part we waited 1 hour. Just to get on the lift to go get on a sled and come down on a track and that was it... Who waits for another hour to do it again??

Waste of money and waste of time.

Better to buy a few cheap sleds and find a nice mountain. You see some when you drive there. With kids, this is way better... because they can go up and down as many times as they like and have fun without the waiting!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
1 review
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Alpine Slide was awesome and our three year old loved it. I would have rather paid $25 and gone on it 5 times than paid $25 for the stupid tubing right next to it, which we only went down twice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Too Busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is fun because we have been there before but we did not bother this time. The place was complete caos. There was nobody directing traffic and a complete klack of coordination. I would have been happy to drop some big bucks here but after struggling to try to park we gave up on it. Too bad......hopefully their management team gets to read this so they know what thier weak points are.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun day in the snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The attractions at Alpine Slide were fun. Our only complaint is that you had to buy different passes for the two different slides (Inner tube vs. cart slide). Make sure to be adventurous on the tube slide.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain also viewed

Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 

Been to Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.