We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grizzly Manor Cafe

Grizzly Manor Cafe
41268 Big Bear Blvd, CA
909 866 6226
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had read and heard that this place has the best breakfast so we decided to try it out. It's very small so prepare to wait. We only waited about 10 minutes because there were only 2 of us and we ate at the counter. Very homey place with no frills. The portains are HUGH so keep that in mind. I had 1/2 of The Blob which was 1 biscuit and gravy with bacon cut up in it and an egg any style on top and it was just right. Beware of the pancakes as they are probably 12" around, no kidding. You get a lot of food but I can't say that it was Soooo good that I would have to go again but fun to go at least once.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    28
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A trip to Big Bear isn't complete without a visit to Grizzly Manor Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have to stop here for breakfast whenever I am in the area. I try to visit Big Bear Lake at least once a year and I always look forward to having breakfast here! The pancakes are huge and delicious. I have never been disappointed. Did I mention the staff is fun and friendly too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's just breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the star show stoppers for the huge pancakes. This place is average. It's breakfast. I had ham eggs and hashbrowns. They don't poach eggs. So that was a negative for me. The portions are good for the price. Average price of meals $10. If you're willing to wait for large portions then go for it. Denny's and Ihop provide an average breakfast like they do. Weigh your options. Denny or Ihop. Less wait time. This place if you show up at a popular time 830-10. Wait time 30-45 ,pminutes. Losing ski time. You do the math

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mammoth Grizzly Portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

6 of us on a motorcycle day ride......Breakfast venue only, Grizzly Manor Cafe's theme clearly is quantity. Huge portions (very lean bacon btw) and good quality breakfast. I had the "blob" (biscuits, gravy, bacon w/o cheese) -- good but not great. Very small venue with perhaps 8, 4 seat tables and a bar type seating for 5/6....very cramped. Atmosphere was clearly "apri ski" and high schoolish / collegiate clientele with walls covered in stickers of all types --- kitchen was so close to seating that you could "smell the bacon".

If under 30 and running a caloric deficit from a hard day skiing, these mammoth portions likely will provide well over 1,000 calories (high fat) and you will leave with a smile on your face.... if looking for a pleasant breakfast venue, comfortable seating and reasonable elbow room -- less claustrophobic with higher quality entrees --- try another restaurant! Guess it's an age thing!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It is a popular place between locals, Huge portions, good prices, delicious French toasts and hot cakes! you have to wait outside for some minutes but the wait is not too bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly Manor Cafe also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Grizzly Manor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizzly Manor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.