We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of StarGazers Inn & Observatory

StarGazers Inn & Observatory
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bear Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
StarGazers Inn & Observatory
717 Jeffries Road, CA 92315-2819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Big Bear Region B&B and Inns
La Verne, CA
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Me and my husband just got back today from our stay @ the Stargazers Inn & Observatory. This place is amazing! We went there for our Babymoon, the last trip to take before our baby arrives in October. We combined it also for our anniversary which is in September and we won't be able to take a trip then!

With our package, we received a lovely room on the first floor, with a jacuzzi tub for 2. There were candles to light while in the tub to make it romantic. We also had a shower in the room. When we turned our lights at night, the ceiling lit up with stars! It was really cool! We also had silk flower petals on our bed!

Our package came with a bottle of chilled sparkling cider, chocolate covered strawberries, and a stuffed toy unicorn for our unborn daughter and we could name a star for her!

Breakfast was great every morning! Yesterday, we started out having baked apples that were delicious and then we had french toast with bacon and orange slices. Today, we had a blueberry dish as our starter and then our main course was a Monte Cristo cassarole topped with strawberries and a fruit salad! Absolutly delicious! To drink, there was orange juice, apple juice, cranberry juice, grape juice, coffee, tea, hot cider or 2 kinds of hot chocolate: Mexican or Garadelli!

Doreen, the Inn Keeper, is a sweet and lovely person. She goes out of her way to make sure her guests are pleased and well taken care of. She helped us with directions to nearby attractions and gave us ideas of things to do in town. She had snacks available for her guests and soda & water available in her fridge. She made sure her guests had no food allergies and she did whatever she could to accomodate them with their needs.

The onsite attractions @ this Inn were, a indoor pool located downstairs and it's always 89 degrees! A sauna located next to the pool, a ping pong table, a pool table, a dart board, a movie library with an extensive list, free internet, and on Saturday night, there was a star-party in the onsite Observatory! We saw constellations, some stars, and Jupiter with 2 of it's moons! It was awesome!

Doreen has a saying, "Come as a guest, leave as a friend!" Well, it's true, we have made a friend and we hope to go back again one day to visit this wonderful place!

Doreen offers all kind of packages and offers the Inn for a private B&B and church retreats!

We HIGHLY recommend staying here. You won't regret it!

  • Liked — The observatory and the friendliness of the inn keeper.
  • Disliked — Our time went by too quickly and we had to leave this serene and beautiful place!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

The Stargazers Inn was a breath of fresh mountain air compared to the rest of your typical Victorian B&Bs! Doreen, the Innkeeper, has decorated her B&B with fantastic planetary photographs and astronomy books and videos. She offers a wealth of knowledge, not only of astronomy, but of the local Big Bear history and things to do in the area. The gourmet breakfasts were OUT OF THIS WORLD, and we were so full that we didn't even need lunch both days we skied. We very much appreciated the special touches, including dietary considerations and organic/local product options. The Star Party conducted by Neil St. John was amazing and worth the nominal cost, especially with Neil's attention to detail while describing the planets. We gazed through the B&B's telescope at the craters of the moon and the rings around Saturn, shaking our heads in disbelief! Our room, Perseus, was beautifully decorated and very clean with modern and romantic amenities. Finally, the chlorine-free pool and in-suite candlelit jacuzzi tubs were welcome touches after an active mountain day! Our only regret was that we didn't book our trip for a longer stay!!!

  • Liked — that this B&B stood out from the rest of your typical B&Bs because of its theme
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

We rented the entire inn with two other families for the weekend and had a spectacular time. Great place for kids. The stargazer slideshow, arts and crafts and observatory experience were great for the kids (and grownups). The breakfast surpassed any breakfast at an inn or hotel I've ever had. You will be well cared for at this place.
And, it's quite an experience to go to sleep under the ceiling of glittering stars at night.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

We were delighted with our stay at the Stargazer Inn. The rooms are very comfortable with large bathrooms, including a jacuzzi tub. Each room has realistic stars which sparkle in the dark across the ceiling
and upper walls. On the weekends, there is a star talk and a chance to view stars through a high powered scope. The breakfasts are tasty,
with large portion and lots of different foods on the plate. Surprising in such a small B&B there is also a warm indoor pool and a spa. You are made to feel at home with snacks and drinks available 24/7, an extensive collection of movies you take up to your room plus comfortable couches in the living room and pool table downstairs. This is an adult-oriented place that is welcoming, romantic and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

Doreen, the innkeeper, is a gem. She made our stay so special. The stars on the ceiling of our cozy little bedroom made the expanse of the universe available to us. The in-room jacuzzi was fabulous, too. We loved the breakfasts she cooked. Simply gourmet! If you love the mountains and long to see the stars in all their splendor, this is the place for you. We will return again and again.

  • Liked — The innkeeper, the room decor, the fabulous breakfasts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

Be the star of your own vacation at the StarGazers Inn & Observatory in Big Bear Lake, California! You will be pampered and taken care of by host, Doreen Wiggins, as you enjoy gourmet breakfasts, hotel amenities, including a heated indoor pool and sauna, homemade cookies, and more at this astronomy-themed B &B. StarGazers is immaculately clean, quiet, beautiful -- set among the trees with gorgeous nature views. It is great for a romantic getaway under the stars -- literally, the ceilings twinkle when the lights go off. There is also a game room with pool table, a library, gift shop, movies to borrow, TV's in the rooms, Internet connection in the "family room, " and much more. You come as a guest and leave as a friend. Five Star experience!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

We were so incredibly impressed with the detail Doreen put into her pride and joy. My husband and I are in the midst of project which entails traveling to bed and breakfasts all over the country. One thing we love to see during our travels is a B&B with a great theme. Well, Doreen has this in spades! Additionally, the amenities seem endless and the burgeoning wildlife habitat in the backyard is a charming "breakfast date" each morning!
Lisa & Marco
aloveproject

  • Liked — the theme!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to StarGazers Inn & Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StarGazers Inn & Observatory

Address: 717 Jeffries Road, CA 92315-2819
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique luxury B&B, wooded acre; close to lake, hiking and skiing. Searching for Romantic Getaway? Bathe by candlelight or under the "stars"; deepsoak jacuzzi tub for two. Fall asleep under the "stars"; queen featherbeds, gas fireplaces. Stargazing under crystalline skies; private observatory. Beautiful indoor heated pool sanitized by salt; steam & dry sauna. Billiards, darts, karaoke, piano, movie library, ping-pong. Full breakfast, Happy Hour, snacks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stargazers Inn And Observatory
Stargazers Inn & Observatory Hotel Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage StarGazers Inn & Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added StarGazers Inn & Observatory to your Saves list