We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timber Haven Lodge - off the busy streets of Big Bear - GREAT PLACE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Haven Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Timber Haven Lodge to your Saves list
Timber Haven Lodge
877 Tulip Lane, CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
San Juan Cap
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Timber Haven Lodge - off the busy streets of Big Bear - GREAT PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

We've been staying at Timber Haven Lodge for the last five years - since our dog was three months old! It's a quaint property, clean and well kept. The property is beautiful all seasons - ping pong, lots of movies available to borrow, jacuzzi (it's great at night under the stars), snow play just down the street in the winter. The prices are reasonable too - which helps families. The owners, Mehrdad and Karen are very kind and give it a very hospitable warm touch. Breakfast treats in their lobby in the morning - the kids love it! It's just off the main boulevard, but far enough that you don't hear traffic all night like some of the properties on Big Bear Blvd. Visit their website, timberhavenlodge.com and you can check it out for your self!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

This was our 10th stay at Timberhaven Lodge. We had discovered this lovely Cabin Resort several years ago and re-visited when the new owners took over about 3 years ago and loved the place even more. The new owners Karen and Mehrdad are wonderful people and very nice to talk to. They have made many improvements and treat us like friends. The cozy cabin units are truly cozy and very nice but our favorite is #7 "The Log Cabin". We like it so much that we joyned the Timber Haven Vacation Club which really ended up being a great deal for us. I highly recommend it if you like to spend several weekends in Big Bear at a nice Cabin. Since the Lodge is dog friendly which is very important to us, we always bring our 2 Italian Greyhounds and they love the Log Cabin as well. First of all we really like the location of Timber Haven Lodge. It is far off the main road on a quiet street and right across from the National Forest but still close enough to town. You can hike right from the Cabin or go on nice dirt road drives to more hiking trails and it's very quiet and peaceful. The Cabin Grounds are always kept very neat with pretty Teak Outdoor furniture, horseshoe pit, playground, BBQ's, Ping Pong and a nice big Spa with strong jets. The spa was so nice this weekend. It was hot and ready to use each evening! Mehrdad will bring out nice BBQ tools for you and in the Summer Karen will bring Mosquito Candles out when she notices you are having dinner outside. The Cabins are always spotless clean and the Kitchen is very well equiped down to the wine opener. A basket with Coffee, Tea, Hot Chocolate and everything you need to go with it. There is everything we ever needed! When you are a vacation club member you also get free firelogs, a Video and popcorn and 1 pontoon bout tour of the lake. The king size bed in the cozy bedroom is very comfortable with lots of soft pillows and blankets. The bathroom is small but squeaky clean and everything works well. Lots of nice thick towels, soap, shower caps, make up remover towlets etc. are provided. The Log Cabin is a very good size with nice rock fireplace in the living room, big dining table and 6 chairs, good size kitchen, a 1/2 bathroom (toilet and sink) is off the kitchen which is nice if you are sharing this cabin with guests or kids that sleep in the living room. The Lodge provides free Continental Breakfast which includes coffee, orange juice, fruit, danishes, bagles, mini muffins, cream cheese, butter, jam etc. We already have our reservations for March and are looking forward to our "Log Cabin" in the Pines again. Some of our favorite Restaurants in Big Bear are The Mandoline (make reservations!), La Montana (Mexican), The Captain's Anchorage and for good micro brews and comfort food we like the Big Bear Brewery. And dont miss the Oktoberfest in the month of September and October. It's a ton of fun! We think Timber Haven Lodge is the best Cabin Resort in the Big Bear area and we had tried others in the past.

  • Liked — The charming Log Cabin which was built in the 30's which is cozy and the nice setting in the pines and the hot spa!
  • Disliked — There is nothing negative
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

We just stayed here a week ago. Overall, I loved it and would readily go back. A big factor are the very personable owners who were welcoming and chatty. The grounds are lovingly kept, very quaint with lots of attention to the details. It shows pride in ownership. Another huge factor is the cleanliness of our jacuzzi suite. They really make sure you do not feel "icked" by dirty corners and dusty tables. Many charming touches to our room, including chilled Martinelli apple ciders and chilled wine glasses, candies by the bedside, complimentary robes.

My complaint would be the draftiness of the room. The doors weren't weather-proofed so there was a constant draft from the cold. Plus the bathroom does not have central heat so it was always cold. It does have a heat lamp that you can turn on, though, to warm it up. We compensated by turning the heater on high, which blew constantly throughout the night and made my sinuses dry out. Oh well. Minor complaint compared to the comfort and joy of being in a great cabin. Oh, I almost forgot that the owners live directly above the jacuzzi suite and the ceiling must be thin. We kept hearing them walking around up there, turning on the faucets, etc. Kind of annoying.

The jacuzzi in the jacuzzi suite is really fantastic. Right next to the fireplace, which we also had on most of the night. So fun.

Go! You'll enjoy it! Most places aren't perfect, and this one is really nicely done for an imperfect place.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

Loved the ambience! It is a small facility and therefore very private and quiet. Even tho it is off the main drag, it is close to town and the slopes.

We stayed in the "jaccuzzi" room. It was very cozy and romantic. Loved the fireplace next to the jaccuzzi and close to the bed. It also had a little sitting area with a "kitchen" with a microwave and refrigerator.

The grounds were well kept and the owners very accomodating. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

Looking forward to returning very soon.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

Wonderful romantic cabin, hospitable owners, and quiet area. We stayed in Cabin #8. The lodging area was clean and well kept and the cabin room was cozy. Hot tub, TV, shower, sink, and coffeemaker operated with no problems. Close enough to the village for easy access to shopping and dining yet far enough away to feel hibernated in your own private neck of the woods. Thank you for a great mini-vacation!

  • Liked — Clean and romantic cabin; customer service
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

I liked how the property was in a neighborhood instead of on the main drag - was very quaint and had lots of options for the kids to play in the snow without getting out of the car - could walk from your room!

The cottages were quaint and cozy and clean. The room was comfortable and the staff was very accomodating. The location is close to everything and it is so far my favorite place to stay in Big Bear.

Next time I want to stay in the log cabin - it looks awesome (even has a mud room!) but it books up fast.

Stayed January 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

We were very pleased when we arrived to find Timber Haven in quiet surroundings and towering pines. The property was immaculate. Upon check-in, we were greeted with a warm smiles by Karen and Mehrdad, the owners. They were very accommodating and hospitable. They treated like special quests in their own home. They were also kind enough to offer us a room without a neighbor. Our room was very clean and cozy. We would definitely stay at Timber Haven again, but next time in the jacuzzi room! Although off the beaten path, Timber Haven is conveniently located and the owners are some of the nicest people you'll ever have the pleasure of meeting.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber Haven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Haven Lodge

Address: 877 Tulip Lane, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Haven Lodge, in Big Bear Lake, CA is a four season destination for leisure and relaxation. Offering you the finest lodging within steps of the San Bernardino National Forest, away from noise and traffic it is located within minutes of shopping, restaurants, theaters, ski areas and Big Bear Lake. We treat our guests as family and tend to their every need from 24 hour room service and in-room massage to wireless internet connection and cable TV. Enjoy the fresh mountain air and seclusion of our cabins on your next getaway. At Timber Haven Lodge experience comfort and charm of a bed & breakfast with service and amenities of a first class hotel. Romantic cabins, seclusion, long list of amenities, and unparalleled service make Timber Haven Lodge an ideal year-round vacation destination for singles, couples and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Timber Haven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Haven Hotel Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Haven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.