We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty burger” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nottinghams Restaurant

Nottinghams Restaurant
40797 Lakeview Dr, CA 91523
909 866 4644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 106 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped in here for an early lunch with a large party of ten. Six adults and four teenagers. When we first walked in there was no one around to welcome us and throughout our meal I noticed the same thing happening to many people trying to eat here. Once seated the service was fine nothing special. I had the BLT with fries and it was good not great. My husband had the Nottingham Burger and it was delicious, I should have ordered it. A few of our friends had the Grilled Salmon Salad and it looked amazing, very fresh and full of vegetables. Two of the teenagers had the Chicken Pasta and thought it was good. Another person in our party had the Seafood Quesadilla and it did not look very appealing and he mentioned it was just ok. Overall all the food was fine and service ok but I'm not sure I would come back.. Ok maybe for the burger..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    9
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Robinhood will never return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went for lunch, ordered and after waiting 45 minutes I cancelled our order. Gave this place a 2nd chance so we went for happy hour. The bartender was more interested in visiting with his friend at the end of the bar along with a server that was off work than taking care of paying customers. Don't waste your time. Service sucks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very long wait for a reasonable meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

To be totally fair to the establishment, serving eight adults and six children can be a daunting task. However, that being said, there is no excuse for any restaurant to force diners to wait 90 minutes before receiving their meals.

It took a total of 30 minutes for a server take drink orders and another 15 minutes or more to take our food orders. From my observation, there was only one server on duty. Tuesday night may not be busy, but any proprietor of a restaurant should be visible to ensure that diners are being served. I cannot fault the food. It was done well and there were no complaints when it finally arrived. Perhaps the reason for the lack of complaints was the long wait which exacerbated the hunger of the children and the rest of our party.

On a positive note, each child on Tuesday receives a free meal in conjunction with an adult meal. That is an indicator one might presume of why the establishment was understaffed. I don't think we will be returning, as children are especially vulnerable to long waits. However, our server, under obvious pressure, remained calm, friendly and accommodating as possible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch on the Patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a morning of jet sking we were looking for a nice place to relax and have a quiet lunch. Nottinghams fit the bill. They have a nice patio for outdoor dining and the service, although slow, was friendly. We really weren't in a hurry so the relaxed atmosphere and slow pace was fine. The food was good (very good onion rings) and I would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best experience in Big Bear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Took my wife for her birthday and had both excellent food AND service from Alice. Thank you, Nottinghams (and you, Alice), for making this a wonderful experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nottinghams Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Nottinghams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nottinghams Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.