We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar

The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar
42148 Moonridge Way, CA 92315
909 866 3997
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 106 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Historic Big Bear is alive at the Captain's Anchorage----complete with a ghost named George.The restaurant has been a tradition in Big Bear since 1946. Originally called the Sportsman's Tavern, the Captain's Anchorage has enjoyed visits by Hollywood celebrities, weathered fires, and has hosted gambling and the ghost of a former employee.Today, the rustic stone and log building invites guests to enjoy a good meal in a comfortable atmosphere. Enjoy cocktails and appetizers in the Andy Devine bar, or stay for dinner in the dining room. Every meal comes with the soup and salad bar, even the under $20.00 dinners.Visit the website for the menu and for more stories about the history of Big Bear and the Captain's Anchorage Restaurant.
Indio, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We ordered off the Under $20.00 menu. My husband had the Mahi Mahi and found it overcooked and dry. I had the scallops which were quite bland. The salad bar was excellent. The service was outstanding. The only reason I am giving this restaurant as high of a rating is the service was great and I've talked to other that love the place, so I figure it was a poor night for the under $20.00 menu. The regular menu is expensive, however the atmosphere is very nice. We do plan to visit here again, but will not order from the under $20.00 menu again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    11
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This last weekend we stopped in at captains Anchorage for another great meal. I had the prime rib and my wife had the shrimp tempura and both were excellent. This place has great food very good service very nice ambience. It's a little older on the inside but it's very traditional classic dinner house with an older waitstaff. My prime rib was cooked exactly to order and was excellent. My wife's shrimp tempura was very tasty. In our experience captaining captains Anchorage is one of the best places to eat in the Bigbear area And is one of our favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had the filet and lobster tail, friend got the prime rib. Was tops! The lobster tail was over 8 oz and cooked to perfection. If you want good steak or prime, this is the place to go!
Loved the bartender!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Captain's Anchorage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Average food, bread isn't worth eating. Salad/soup bar not too bad. Under $20 menu a good value. Service is usually good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had dinner here on our recent trip and it was defiantly somewhere we will return to. I had the prime rib on the under $20 menu and hubby had the highly recommended by the waiter fresh Halibut blackened. The Halibut was delicious and I almost wished I had ordered it as well but it was good to both have something different to share. Dinner come with soup and sald bar and warm bread. It's a fun place with friendly people and great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's Anchorage Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.