We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Lodge Ever!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Black Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Black Forest Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst Lodge Ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Me and my family stayed there for 2 days and on the second day, we had to leave Big Bear early. My son got really sick because of the pool. The pool was so cold that he could hardly breathe or talk. Later on in the evening, my son was rushed to the emergency room. Good thing that they cured him.

OK, putting that aside the rooms are terrible. The concierge said that we had a BIG suite with a nice Jacuzzi in it. When we got to the room we were disappointed. The beds were not clean and there was nothing to cover yourself with. There were hairs and stains in every piece of furniture there. The balcony was horrible and the cleanness of the room was horrible. We could not sleep at all and were disappointed. Prepare to not sleep at all and probably catch a disease.

We stayed in room 21 so don't ever pick that room. Even a motel would be better. The only good thing about the place as its location. It was close to the lake.

Room Tip: Never stay in room 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    14
    9
    26
See reviews for
21
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived spontaneously at big bear. Looked for places to sleep the night with 8 month old baby. Not too many left. So We were happy there was any place. No baby cribs so we "made" a bed on the floor. This turned out to be more comfortable than the awfull bed. The bed had an inward bulge couldn't even think about sleeping on it the entire night. We didn't shower or had jaccuzi due to lack of enthusiasm.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was very chalet-like and the way the units (hotels and cabins) were arranged made for a community feeling. The rooms were small, but an effort to maintain the mountain atmosphere was evident. We stayed in one of the apartments, not a cabin, and it could use some updating. The tub showed signs of repair, the shower head dripped all day (and night), the flooring had seen better days, you risked being dumped on the floor if you sat too close to an edge because the queen bed was on a crib sized platform, we found 2 sets of ski gloves in a bottom drawer (it's late June), and the roller for the tp was missing. On the other hand the unit had a fireplace, no kitchen, dresser, 2 night stands, small television, and a couch. It was cozy and the staff was pleasant and accommodating. It was also a great location for the jazz concert we attended. We were able to walk to several restaurants nearby. Would stay again. Might try a cabin next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

we were here for 3 nights while my wife took classes, and we enjoyed our stay. The unit has a fridge, stove, and microwave, as well as a wood burning fireplace. It is well off the street, and was beautifully quiet at night. When we needed a blender and pitcher for Margaritas, Tom at the front desk gave us them immediately. The place is not a four star, but it is clean and exceptionally good value.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband, daughter & I stayed for 4 nights during the week in December and had a blast!!!! We were looking for an affordable place where we could fix our own meals, relax & sleep by the fire. . .What an incredible experience to see our daughter really enjoy herself exploring in the snow AND seeing it FALL for the 1st time (she has played in it several times before but to see it falling is such another experience). If it weren't for the affordable prices they offer we would not have been able to stay so many nights. The room was clean and had everything we needed. When we found that the remote didn't work for one of the TVs, the friendly maintenance guy came and put the proper code so that it would work. Sure the decor is a bit outdated and you aren't staying in a luxury suite, but you aren't paying that kind of price either.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

1986 called and wants its hotel back. The cabin we booked appeared not have been redecorated or even cleaned in quite some time. I wouldn't have gotten in that jacuzzi without a hazmat suit. The bed came with hair, rips and stains but the fireplace.....no gas, no wood. Even if this place was cheaper by half I wouldn't have stayed. They returned my money and for that only I thank them.

Room Tip: Bring sandals for the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We decided last minute to stay over night in Big Bear after a day of snowboarding. It was Presidents Day weekend and everything was pretty much booked. We had a stroke of luck at the Black Forest Lodge. There was a jacuzzi in the room and cable. The lobby smelt like lavender and the staff was friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Lodge

Address: 41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Famous Black Forest Lodge has been providing memorable vacations to fit any size group or budget for over 30 years. With cabins, motels, family chalets and homes we can make your next trip to Big Bear a fantastic experience. Enjoy cozy honeymoon suites with in room spas and our exclusive micro spa for a haircut massage or a little self indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest Lodge And Jacuzzi Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.