We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Old School" Pizza Parlor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maggio's Pizza

Maggio's Pizza
42160 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
909 866 8815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 105 restaurants in Big Bear Region
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Old School" Pizza Parlor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is an order-at-the-counter and then pick up your food place, no table service. We found it to be very clean on a week day. Pizza is thick crust, crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Toppings seemed generous enough. Bottled beer selection is reasonable. Wine program looks dodgy if you are going to buy by the glass as there was a large assortment of red wine bottles opened and recorked behind the bar at 6 PM on a weekday. No vacu-vin stoppers to be seen. That said they seem to be doing a rockin' take out business, so call ahead and grab your favorite vino at the neighboring Vons.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    23
    24
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Costa, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“AlwAys crowded so it has to be good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I have only gotten food to go here. Many times!! Always delicious and ready. I consistently get the eggplant and my husband many different dishes and he loves them all. We keep going back. Every time we go...it is packed with people. Friendly staff. In the Vons center so lots of parking. One of these days I'll sit in there and eat. To go has always been very good. Readable prices and HUGE portions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Favorite Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Maggio's is my favorite place for Italian food in Big Bear. The service is simple and good. You order at the counter and sit down. Sometimes you get your meal, other times they bring it too you. The pasta and sauce is consistently good. The pizza's are WONDERFUL! Order away, there is not a bad one on the list. Great inexpensive wine and beer available. Many times we split orders because there is enough!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very casual restaurant, great for families with children. Order your food, pick your table, get your own silverware, self serve drink station, when your name comes up you pick up your order at the counter.
The restaurant does a brisk takeout business.
We dined in and did a takeout.
The food is wholesome, pizzas and calzones were good, not great (a bit soggy for our taste)
Antipasto salads were ok for this type of restaurant.
Pasta dishes were ok, the meatballs were tender.

This is not fine dining but after a long day of hiking the trails, this is a good stop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Very good lunch spot in Big Bear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had lunch of an original sub sandwich and a veggie Calzone. Both were huge. The sub, on wheat bread had lots of meat, tomato, cheese, onions, lettuce and was very good. The Calzone was very good and was almost too much for my wife. This a restaurant where you place your order then when it's ready you pick it up at the counter. It's obviously a place where the locals eat as about eight EMTs were lunching there at the same time. It's clean and neat and the help is friendly and courteous. The prices are very reasonable and I'm sure that's another reason for it's popularity.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggio's Pizza also viewed

 
Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Region, CA
 

Been to Maggio's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggio's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.