We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Save Saved
You added Golden Bear Cottages Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Bear Cottages Resort
39367 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Big Bear Region
Diamond Bar
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband and I have spent our 1st, 5th and eight anniversary at The Golden Bear Cottages. The HoneyPot Cabin is our Favorite! The owners are so nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    36
    6
    13
    31
See reviews for
79
23
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have to admit, at first we were disappointed. We had rented an economy cottage not knowing it was close to the road and the street noise kept us from getting a good night's sleep. We told Don what the problem was and he upgrading us to a luxury cottage far from the road at no additional cost! He bent over backwards to accomodate us, even allowing us to check out late the following day. We will definitely come back as well as recommend the Golden Bear Cottages to our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Big Bear vacation for our family was the perfect getaway and Golden Bear Cottages was the perfect place. A quiet rustic cabin is what we wanted. The staff suggested one when we called to reserve. When we got there it was just like they described; it was great! After spending a week vacationing with other Christian families, we were not ready to go home. Now that we are home, we are still thinking about those great times at Golden Bear Cottages. We reccommend this rustic family resort. It is a great value. Thanks to all the great staff. We are going back very soon

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband and I plus 6 of our good friend just stay at the Goldern Bear cabin #25. Every year we travel to Big Bear for the Big Bear Bash which is run by Corvettes West. We have stayed at the Golden Bear for a number of years and we have NEVER been disappointed. The owners go out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. The cabin was clean and was ready two hours before check in time. We are all looking forward to staying at the Goldern Bear next year same cabin already booked.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This past weekend was our first visit to Golden Bear Cottages. It was perfect for our family of 5.. We were upgraded to a large comfortable cabin without even asking.."Shaggy Bear" The cabin was clean and well stocked with clean towels and kitchen utensils. The owner is very sweet and gracious.. We can not wait to return.. My boys (15, 13 and 5) are already asking when can go back and we just came back home yesterday! Looking forward to our next trip to Big Bear and the Golden Bear Cottages.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I led a church youth retreat to Big Bear last month for a group of 10, and we stayed at Golden Bear. I was a little nervous because I hadn't checked it out ahead of time in person (had just looked at pictures and read reviews), but there was no reason for my nerves... it was exactly the way I had hoped it would be.

We stayed in the five bedroom cabin, and it was great. Lots of space for us to sleep upstairs, relax in the living room area (couches can be moved around for different configurations for games, movie watching, devotion time, etc.), and eating in the dining room.

One of the best parts is the kitchen - stocked with plenty of plates, cups, mugs, cookie sheets, pans, cheese grater, spoons and spatulas, etc. We brought up our own food in a cooler and loved being able to cook for ourselves all weekend - it was cheap, and a great bonding experience as we made spaghetti, tacos, brownies, hash browns, etc. together.

We did have trouble one night with the sink backing up when we were washing dishes, but we just used the bathroom sink instead, and someone promptly came and fixed it so it was no trouble the rest of the weekend.

Golden Bear is conveniently located just a few miles away from the ski resorts (although, we were there on a sold out ski day and it took a long time to get there because of traffic... but that would be the case no matter where you stay!)

The cabins are charming, had great snow coverage, and were very cozy... exactly what we were hoping for. The staff was very kind and friendly to us... check-in was quick, and when we checked out, someone gave us directions to get back home a faster way down the mountain.

Trying to think of anything else... there was a DVD/VHS player in the living room, which we enjoyed using. We never used the fireplace, but the cabin was plenty warm with just the heat on.

The high school students in our group really enjoyed the place - I think they're used to a little more run down conditions, and I heard several times that we had picked a good place and that they liked it. It's also nice because we were all in the same "house", and no one else was with us, which isn't always the case at a typical retreat facility - you often have to share with other groups, or are split into two different buildings far apart from each other.

All in all, a great place. If we choose to do another Winter Camp next year (which at this point, I think we will!), we would definitely return to Golden Bear.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Since I had read some negative reviews online, I decided to ask my friends who referred me to Golden Bear. They told me they had stayed many times here and had always had very good experiences. Because I trust them, we booked our retreat. Well, we just returned and we can say we are very satisfied too. Our entire group retreat consisted of seven cottages of various sizes, so I believe we got a good sampling of the resort. Every one of the cabins were clean. Each was different, but decorated with a cozy and warm feeling of someone who really cared about how the cabins looked. Each cabin was fully stocked with the kind of amenities you would hope to have. We only had to ask for an extra cork screw that was missing from one of the cottage's kitchens. Each day our housekeepers gave us attentative care. They went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, as was the attitude of the entire staff of family owners. I do not understand what some of these people who wrote poor reviews could have wanted. We received all a reasonable person could ask for. We are some of what we believe are the great majority of happy travelers who will return again. Peace and blessings to all at Golden Bear Cottages Resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Bear Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Address: 39367 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Bear Cottages Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Cottages Hotel Big Bear Lake
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bear Cottages Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.