We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful family experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Bear Cottages Resort to your Saves list
Golden Bear Cottages Resort
39367 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Fullerton, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I priced several locations in the Big Bear area for a long family weekend. We wanted to take the kids and our little dog to the mountains before they had to go back to school.
I immediately like the way the young lady on the phone treated me. She took her time and found
the perfect cabin for us. When we arrived the next evening around 10pm she met us with the
keys even though the office had been closed for some time. She was as nice in person as on the
phone. The cabin was great, two beds in each room, a servicable kitchen and best of all a
jacuzzi in the cabin that fit us all comfortably. We barbecued on the grill provided us and had an
all around great time. If you fish make sure you get the coupon for 20% off the boat. We didn't
catch anything but still had a fun time. This is a very freindly family oriented property and is priced
right.

Jon and Stephanie

Room Tip: Tell the folks at the desk what you need and they will taylor the cabin to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    36
    7
    13
    38
See reviews for
93
26
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The owners were VERY nice! However our cabin was bad. The phone did not work. There were holes in the bathroom door, a black widow & her web behind the door. the curtains were falling down, the screens ripped, One whole wall the electricity went out twice (which had the old TV) the first time maintenance never came & we waited! The second time we complained maintenance & the owner came, they jimmy rigged it to make it work. We felt it was NOT worth the $245 a night which included all the fees for a total of $735 for 3 days! Honestly we felt like we got cheated for what we paid. Our 16 year old son thought it was a dive, for a teenager to say that is really saying something about the place. We felt like we were in a motel rather than a resort cabin. We will NOT be coming back!

Room Tip: Check out the cabin before you pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
This family was very nice, and we are happy to address any issues. The problem is, the only complaint from them was when their breaker went out and we sent someone to re set it. We gave them 1/2 off their 3rd night( which they added on after staying 2 nights). They seemed to be a very nice family and we were happy to accommodate any of their needs. I also emailed her and offered her a free nights stay another time after reading her complaints. I asked when she checked out if everything was ok and she said yes. We would have addressed any issues had they been brought to our attention. We will make sure and check all of the things in her complaint in that cabin and rectify or fix anything that needs to be fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hi All
Made a trip up to Big Bear Ca. on Sat. May 21st for the Wine Tasting had a great time in the Village. We stayed at The Golden Bear Cottages on Sat. night. This place is a really nice place to stay if you are in Big Bear for the weekend I highly recommend The Golden Bear Cottages. They are pet friendly. Give them a call at 909-866-2010 or 800-461-1023
Gary & Irene Burris

Room Tip: Will be back in June 2012
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

The staff is nice and very helpful, the rooms are very clean and well kept with nice atmosphere. The property is wonderful and I will definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papa Donato, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We feel so blessed that you shared your stay with others. We strive to please our guests, and we are glad we were able to do so for your stay. Thank you for your honesty and your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed in cabin #21 which is touted to be "cozy". The furniture was very shabby, the flour sloped so much you had to be very careful not to stumble. The worst thing was that it was freezing in the cabin. Air flowed in around the windows and door and around the fireplace. The heater had a slight gas odor and was inadequate. The maid service was terrible. Did not make up the bed - only put clean towels in bathroom and took out the trash. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papa Donato, Manager at Golden Bear Cottages Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We want to say that we appreciate your feedback and are always working to maintain and update our cabins. We realize that we are NOT the Ritz Carlton, and we pride ourselves in this fact. We always appreciate criticism, because that is what helps us grow and better our property. Thank you for writing about your experience. We hope that we will get the opportunity to have you stay with us some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Small and basic, but clean and warm. The gas fireplace kept the place very comfortable. Cabin is on the main road, so there is a lot of traffic when the crowds are visiting town. Not safe if you have small children that could run off to the street. Icy during the winter. The driveway to the cabin was not cleaned up when we arrived, so we got stuck...! It's a couple miles from downtown, not walking distance. Once downtown, you can find all sorts of restaurants and shops, but plan your trip. It gets crowded and parking might be a challenge, as well as getting into town and back to your cabin. Near attractions. Staff was accomodating.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very happy with the cottage we had, cozy very clean and good kitchen equipment. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We will certainly stay there the next time we go back to Big Bear.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Bear Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bear Cottages Resort

Address: 39367 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Bear Cottages Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Cottages Hotel Big Bear Lake
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bear Cottages Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.