We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Front Desk/Decor of Grandma' House” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude Front Desk/Decor of Grandma' House”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a disappointment for my family and I. We paid premium rate of $300/night so we had high expectations. Upon arrival, around 4pm, the front desk girl was not warm and inviting. She was aloof and cold. She said our room may not be ready. I stated we came after check in time. She said they were very busy so we might have to wait. Luckily, our room was ready but her attitude was sour. We had come from Doubletree Suites by Hilton, in Anaheim, where service was impeccable and they were no less busy. The hotel is beautiful from the outside but when we walked into the lobby, it was 80's throwback of my grandma's house. The pro's were the Christmas tree was beautifully decorated and the lounge area was lodge like and featured the Tiffany dome. When we entered our hotel room, there was an unpleasant deodorizer smell. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The fireplace featured gas/scented logs. Since there was no temperature control, we opted to use the fireplace but had to deal with the aroma of burning wood. The brass bed was strange and there were not enough power plugs to charge our phones. The furniture looked antique and the drawers were difficult to open and close. The Jacuzzi tube was so deep, I almost tripped on the side when getting out of it, each time. The first morning we took advantage of the free breakfast. The cook to order eggs, bacon and sausage were awful. The eggs tasted like Chinese fried rice. The restaurant staff were very nice, though. We stuck with the bagels, oatmeal and waffles, the remainder of our stay. The second night, we had dinner at the lounge. The bartender was very friendly and the fish and chips were delicious. The maintenance guy was very busy but always had a smile on his face. I felt sorry for him because he was running around like a chicken with his head cut off. I believe he was the only person handling the guest requests. If you are looking for the mountain lodge experience, this is not the place to stay. It is not in the village.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    86
    53
    34
    25
See reviews for
132
118
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is very average but, unless you want to stay in a ski cabin, is pretty much the only "hotel" option in the area and therefore gets higher scores than I would otherwise give it. There is nothing spectacular or awful about this place. Large rooms, decent value. All in all, a good and simple option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed the facility. The decorations were great and it is a good location. The elevator is quite cute though not available for our room. Staff was friendly. The fireplace in the lounge was a treat to sit by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My review of the hotel on-line had me thinking it should be nice, but you know how photos can fool you, and typically do. Not this time. Nice location, nice entry to the grounds, gorgeous lobby, great staff, nice and spacious room w/ fireplace, and a tasty and plentiful breakfast in nice setting. Would stay here again in a second, and plan to soon. Hope to get back again this winter, but for sure next spring or summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Me and my family stayed for 3 nights on thanks giving weekend. The staff were great. they accommodate us with all our needs. Initially we booked a cabin in a nice lodge but we were not happy there, so went to this hotel. Although they were very busy, they did their best and gave us a nice room. We are going back there for Christmas..

Room Tip: At the time, they did not have a room with balcony. Try to ask for one. It has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yucca valley, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I would recomend this hotel to anyone who visits Big Bear pleasant people and extremely nice rooms love the ones that have the fireplace in them. If you are going for vacation its perfect and the buffet is just right for breakfast offers a variety of items.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this place for our first stay in big bear and it was great!

Check in, it was quick and easy. We got the JR Suite for our stay and this room was amaxing! It was clean and comfortable even with a lovely gas fireplace. Did I mention it was a huge room?!!

Breakfast was just as amazing. There was a lot to choose from, even a menu to order off of directly from the kitchen. The young girl who was working the breakfast was very helpful and polite.

We asked for a late checkout from the manager Penny in the morning who was happy to accommodate us so we could explore the area a bit.

Overall, great experience at this hotel! You wont be disappointed!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau

Address: 42200 Moonridge Road, CA 92315-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming Big Bear Lake, California hotel-the closest full-service lodging to Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, the perfect hotel for avid outdoorsmen and avid ski lovers alike. Located in inland Southern California, this Big Bear Lake hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms complete with a fireplace, pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with Showtime and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers an array of amenities including a seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, game room, fitness center, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 140 people. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau also features the onsite Tiffany's cocktail lounge Serving a special food menu Friday and Saturday from 5:00-9:00 p.m. Guests staying at this California hotel will find themselves less than one mile from both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The hotel also offers convenient access to outdoor activities such as hiking, golf, horseback riding, snowmobiling, fishing, sailing and skiing on Big Bear Lake. Less than ten miles away guests can also visit the Moonridge Zoo, Meadow Park and the Big Bear Convention Center. The BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ideal lodging for groups such as church camps, wedding parties or reunions taking place at Big Bear Lake. The city also hosts a variety of events including the Bear Country Fair, the Ride the Mountain Event, the International Chili Society Cook Off and the Big Bear Cowboy Gathering. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Big Bear Lake, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Big Bear Chateau Hotel Big Bear Lake
Best Western Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Lake Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.