We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Munchies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mountain Munchies
42171 1/2 Big Bear Boulevard, CA
909-366-2310
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 105 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is a favorite among locals (I can tell because every time I'm there, I run into several people I know). As soon as we're seated, a server quickly comes to our table and takes our drink/food order. My two favorite items are the "Mountaineer," which I like on a squaw roll. It's a vegetarian sandwich, generous with avocados and cheese. If I really want to splurge, I also order the curly fries, which they serve with ranch dressing. Another favorite of mine is the garden burger, where they also add avocados. Yum! My husband ordered the French dip the last time we were there, and he's never disappointed. He also likes the turkey and gravy. We've never been disappointed with the food or the service! You can order the food to go, but it's more fun to stay in the restaurant and visit with everybody! If you go during mealtimes on busy (holiday) weekends, be prepared to wait for a table, though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“OK Deli Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I am a local and have tried this restaurant several times over the years. The service is just OK (we are regularly ignored by the wait staff) and the food is average on a whole. If you want better food taste and quality, I recommend going to the Bear Belly Deli on Moonridge Road. They have a much better offering of foods, meats, etc., overall.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Sandwiches in Big Bear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have been visiting Mountain Munchies for over 15 years now. The menu offers many kinds of sandwiches for all. So Far we have never been disappointed. The prices are reasonable. The atmosphere is clean with large tables. The staff was friendly and cooperated when we wanted the large sandwiches cut in thirds. I believe this deli has been open at least 30 years or more.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great owners and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

This little diner is in the Stater Bros. shopping center and is open from 8am to 7pm daily. I am in Big Bear several times per year to see family, and most mornings during my visit I take my father to breakfast there. We also end up going to dinner there at least once each visit. The food is very good -- be sure to order the hash browns at breakfast and the carved turkey sandwich or entree for lunch or dinner. The portions are quite generous for the price charged, and I believe it provides the best combination of good food and good value in Big Bear.

I also want to put a good word in for the staff. My father is elderly, uses a walker, and moves very slowly. The staff could not be more welcoming or accomodating of him. Their kindness to him alone makes me want to go back again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hard to find but Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Mountain Munchies is next to Stater Brothers market. Some of the Best Food in Big Bear Lake, you will not be disappointed! Looks like a small diner/eatry, but excellent food no matter what you try and large portions!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Munchies also viewed

Big Bear Region, CA
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Mountain Munchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Munchies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;