We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   40994 Pennsylvania Ave., CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

It was a great stay. We liked our room a lot. It was cosy and clean and had everything we wished for. The check-in was a warm welcome. We got the best recommendation for a restaurant. It was exatly what we were looking for. The location next to the village made it just a short walk to some of the points of interests in Big Bear Lake. We enjoyed our stay a lot and mostly because we chose the Honey Bear Lodge for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Honey Bear lodge is the best place to stay in Big Bear, I cannot believe how low the price was, we stayed in room 11 which was wonderful, flat screen HD TV, full size fridge, stove, cooking ware, nice kitchen table, wonderful sofas and fireplace. We walked outside and took a horse carriage ride and had dinner at a nice Indian restaurant, then saw a movie which theater was
very close to Honey Bear, everything is close. The Honey bear is located at the end of the town street so its very convenient. Chads place was fun for some beer and pool, then we walked
to the Teddy bear cafe which is best place in BB for home made PIE. The Honey bear deserves 5 stars!
5 stars

Room Tip: upgrade from economy for $20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloversville, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice place for the price. Quiet and close to the "downtown" area. Easy walk to the lake. I took a nice hike that was a few minutes drive from the lodge. Only stayed one night but it was enjoyable. Would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is not every day that one gets to say that they have been to Big Bear Lake area, but I have been honored to go this weekend for a very short trip. The Honey Bear Lodge was a little more and a little less than I expected. While my review is from one night's stay, it is honest to say the least. This hotel is in a perfect location, right down from the Village. Great location! The hotel clerk was a wonderful man that was very warm and welcoming. I would stay there again just for his attitude alone. The loft is where we were placed as it was a room for six. It was very well kept. The only negative thing I can say for my stay is that the beds were very uncomfortable. With two full beds and a futon, the night's rest was not a great one. If the beds were better, this would be at the top of my list of places to stay! Thank you Honey Bear Lodge! <3

Room Tip: The hotel clerk is great at assessing the best room for your party! Just ask and he will help willi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Honey Bear Lodge with my two friends on a skiing trip. We stayed in a loft room with two queens and a futon. The room was great, it was very clean and slept three guys very comfortably. The lodge has a great drive way and easy accessible parking lot. It is nice because it is off the highway and busy streets. The lodge is within walking distance to the village which is great so you can eat and drink without worrying about driving. The staff was very nice, I had pleasure of meeting the Manager Marcos who was very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We picked the Honey Bear Lodge to get off of the main drag where it would be a bit quieter. Honey Bear was very quiet, absolutely no road noise at all. You can get a little sound from neighbors or people walking outside but we had no problems. The lodge is heated with radiant hydronic floor heat - warm floors. The nice thing about this you have no heater noise in your room, and when you walk into the bathroom in bare feet its not cold. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is perfect and in winter season heated floors are ROCKI! However, beds weren't comfortable, couldn't sleep for two nights of staying and we couldn't control heating. Over the night inside the room was super hot. Rooms are clean and hosts are very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins

Address: 40994 Pennsylvania Ave., CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Honey Bear Lodge And Cabins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey Bear Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.