We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Big Bear Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Big Bear Lake to your Saves list
Knights Inn Big Bear Lake
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   40598 Big Bear Blvd., CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Big Bear Region B&B and Inns
Blythe, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Run down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our son got the room and asked us to come up. He is youg so he got the least expensive place. Omg, the carpet was filthy the lamp shades torn drapes falling down hole in bottom of door tv from the 90's. The beds were clean so we stayed. Before we got there they changed rooms because bathroom in other was awful. The lobby was dirty trash not thrown out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    4
    27
See reviews for
9
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've read some harsh reviews here and felt I had to write my own. I stayed at the Knights Inn (Big Bear Blvd) this past weekend. Myself and the lady wanted to visit the ski slopes for a day on Sunday and we drove Saturday afternoon. They have two buildings and we stayed at the building south of the boulevard. It did the job. Yes its old and out of date and the carpet is as cleans as grandma's carpet, but big deal. It won't be the best place you stay at, of course. Men, you'll have zero problems with this place. Most ladies will be perfectly fine. My lady said 'it did the job'. We both laughed off its rustic charm before whizzing off to the slopes in the morning.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms in the building on the south side of the boulevard are quieter as this building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Probably it was a nice place to stay in the past - two room suite with kitchen. But now, run down, no maintenance, dirty like I've never seen before, and the noisiest heater I've ever heard in my life, which would periodically wake us up through-out the night with its loud "tic-tic-tic".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Ok so I read all the reviews before we went and stayed there for one night over the weekend and we had gotten the family suite with 3 beds for 4 of us for about $120.00. I think that was a great price to share for what we got because we were just looking for a place to sleep at night while we were snowboarding for the weekend. The heater works, there are clean beds even though they are hard, and a bathroom with shower. If u expect more than that dont go. The rooms dont look the greatest, there was no pots or pans to cook with and the breakfest sucks but again that stuff didnt matter to us so I would say if I cant find something else around the same price I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The nastiest hotel I've experienced. Some would say you get what you pay for, but paying $100 for one night is not a small amount in my book, and no matter the price, there is no excuse for lack of sanitation, and cleanliness. I got a cheaper room thinking, I don't need fancy, as long as it's clean. IT WAS NOT.
Every fabric in the room from the curtains, floor carpet, to bed covers was falling apart, dusty and dirty with spots. Gross. The toilet was coming apart, with cracks and holes everywhere.
Also, the complementary breakfast was a joke. Nowhere to sit, no actual breakfast, just a packaged cookie and a cup of coffee.
Did I mention the raccoon going through the huge dumpster that was overflowing in the parking lot, right next to where my car was parked?
Seriously, there is NO excuse for this. Shame on the people who run this place. All I can
conclude is that this place has no integrity, cares very little for its customers, and I hope it goes out of business so no one has to be this disappointed again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the most disgusting hotel i have ever seen!!! I am in it right now writing a review calling other hotels looking for vacancy...the window has a piece of wood in it as a lock. The shower has mold. Linoleum floors with tears. The tv is older than me and im almost 30. Great waste of money i had no idea the hotel could possibly be this bad given its proximity to the town....so bad we refuse to take a shower and or going to wait 2 days til we get to disneyland

Room Tip: Turn around and leave do not book i posted a bunch of pictures on yelp
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

When we arrived in the lobby it looked homely and inviting. Not first class, but this is the mountains. The staff were very friendly and nice so you couldn't fault them for that. After the greeting were out of the way, we were gave our room keys and disturbing directions to another building that was not assessable unless you had a 4x4! I was already starting worry, when we got to the room I was terrified! We had to carry our bags up a back staircase, no lifts, to our room that was right on the staircase! The room it's self had not only seen better days it was not even fit for a soup kitchen regular! The heating was gas fired with no carbon monoxide alarm, and as a director of a gas heating company I would have condemned the heater if it was in England!
The bathroom was actually disgusting and was as far as I could tell more of a death trap than shower room.
Please, please look for somewhere else to stay until this company knock down this hotel and rebuild. Because it does not matter how much they spend refurbishing this building it will still be terribly insulated and set out!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Big Bear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Big Bear Lake

Address: 40598 Big Bear Blvd., CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Big Bear Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Big Bear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Big Bear Lake Hotel Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Big Bear Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.