We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally found the bakery of my dreams and it's only 92 miles from my house!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Pine Bake Shop

Sugar Pine Bake Shop
40191 Big Bear Blvd., CA
(909)866-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 106 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Alhambra, California
1 review
“Finally found the bakery of my dreams and it's only 92 miles from my house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

As soon as we arrived and drove by I knew that I wanted to stop. It's an adorable little bakery. The baked goods were delish! We tried the cinnamon roll, peanut butter cookie, pumpkin square, and so much more. Everything was perfectly baked and tasted 100% homemade.

I can't wait to go back to buy one of everything!!! Yes, it was that good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“best lemon bar ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

cute little bakery, lots of goodies and good prices. only open on weekends and the lemon bar was to die for. really rich and creamy and wonderful, must try! you can order cupcakes ahead and they looked great! I would try the apple and carmel one! next time

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Am I missing something?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I've read the other reviews here, and perhaps my family went here on the bakery's off days, but this bakery just isn't what everyone else has said it is. The cookies we had were not fresh tasting and too sweet. The cinnamon roll was dry. And the half dozen cupcakes we bought for our son's birthday back in 2010 were dry as well. We haven't been back since Jan. 2011, so perhaps things have improved or we were just unlikely.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Birthday Cake...EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We celebrated my son's 7th birthday while on vacation in Big Bear. Sugar Pine Bake Shop came very highly recommended and did not disappoint! I called Trish about 2 weeks before our arrival and talked about what I wanted. She put together, hand's down, the best birthday cake we have ever gotten. It was decorated perfectly (Star Wars theme, but very sophisticated) and tasted amazing. It's a good thing I don't live in Big Bear year-round...it would be very easy to become addicted to that chocolate buttercream! Thanks so much!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Trish made our wedding cake from a picture ; it was awesome. We asked her to create a cake of her own design for a party of hot rodders; it was awesome. The new bake shop is clean and refreshing and easy to find on BBL Blvd. She is only open a couple days a week, but will do special orders by appointment. Trish is just as sweet as her cakes. Can't say enough about her and her shop. They are just the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Pine Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Pine Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Pine Bake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.