We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Friendly Smiling Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thelma's Family Restaurant

Thelma's Family Restaurant
337 W Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
909-585-7005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 106 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Friendly Smiling Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Loved the wonderful homemade food & apple dumplings!!!!! The staff was super and always smiling and nice each visit. This is our Favorite place to eat and we wish they were closer to home as would make it a daily outing. Super!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PASTRIES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Food good - fish tacos superb - Tuesday is discount night 1.75 a piece. Pies unbeliveably tasty and fresh and not syrupy/sugary - real fruit! Crust delicate and flaky! Patio seating is very garden like. Only faults - Ice tea weak and food a bit over priced but you pay for atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Down home cooking in a mountain atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

If your traveliing to Big Bear and want some down home cooking with great pricing check out Thelmas place. The staff are great and location is close to town without being pricey. Best breakfast in town without a doubt.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Huge portions and homestyle cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We couldn't decide where to eat the first night we arrived in Big Bear Lake and decided to try Thelma's due to their advertisement of a pot pie special. Delicious! The pot pie was so large that it could have been shared by two. The generous and flaky crust overflowed the dish. The chicken and sauce were creamy with a hint of curry. It was yummy! I took half home for the next day. Hubby had the chicken fired steak and it, too, did not disappoint. Lots of locals seemed to be eating in the restaurant. The only complaint was that some of the desserts in the case looked like they had seen better days. The bananas in the banana cream pie were very black. They need to make sure that what they are displaying looks appetizing. We didn't get dessert based on the looks of that pie.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must when in Big Bear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My family and I went to Thelma's for breakfast last week while in Big Bear for a snowboarding holiday. We stop at Thelma's on our way home every year. The breakfasts are great - especially the biscuits and gravy! My vegetarian daughter had cinnamon roll french toast - very good as well. My only complaint is they don't take credit cards, so I have to make sure I have enough cash on hand.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thelma's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Thelma's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thelma's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.