We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced but food was flavorful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fuji Restaurant

Fuji Restaurant
41025 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
(909) 866-8108
Update restaurant details
Ranked #68 of 102 restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Montebello, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very overpriced but food was flavorful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We went for the teppan. The lowest price price was $18 for tofu and veggies it was very flavorful. The rest of the teppan menu was above $23 for one meat or seafood and over $27 for two meats for one person. The meals for all but the tofu one had shrimp appetizer while all had had soup, salad, veggie appetizer, and steamed rice. The soup was lukewarm and the dressing to the salad was a little bitter. If we wanted fried ice it would be an extra charge of $2.50 each person. Drinks were also pricey and limited to one refill except for hot tea and water. There was a separate menu for sushi and other meals but we were not offered that menu. Most teppan restaurants have only one menu that offers all their menu items The main meals were flavorful but I wouldn't go back because of the price.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    4
    2
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“the real thing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Only issue is service. It is awful. But they are really japanese people serving awesome food. So plan to be patient and join the teppan grill or sit at a table or the tiny sushi bar, relax and enjoy. Emphasis on RELAX. If you are in a hurry, forget it. Prices are good too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

For years, Fuji Sushi was right around the corner from me in the San Fernando Valley. When it moved two hours away to Big Bear, I thought I'd never taste that beautifully presented sashimi, perfectly rolled sushi, or comforting miso soup again. But on a recent trip to Big Bear, I had my birthday dinner there and was delighted to see my old friend, Koji, behind the counter. He makes that same two-hour drive once a week to select the freshest seafood he can find in the Los Angeles market, and his extra care and attention to detail make this a quality dining experience.

It's not a place to go for ambiance. It's more like a mini-mall eatery. But the reasonable prices--we were there between 5:00 and 6:30 for half-price sushi--and the fresh, expertly prepared seafood are worth sitting at the crowded counter.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent Teppanyaki for Big Bear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The food was average to above average. I mean I wouldn't go to a skiing mountain for Japanese food necessarily, but it was good. The language barrier was marginal, but I wouldn't say I would never go back to this restaurant.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SERVICE WAS POOR”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We went on a Saturday night and it took 1 hour for us to get our food If it wasnt for the NFL playoff on TV there we would have walked out. We have ate here many times before and never had this bad of service. The food was great after we got it. And when we got our food was actually warm so that was good.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuji Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Fuji Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuji Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.