We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly average coffee shop style food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Country Coffee Shop

Alpine Country Coffee Shop
41546 Big Bear Blvd, CA 92315
909-866-1959
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #58 of 102 restaurants in Big Bear Region
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Apple Valley, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dog friendly average coffee shop style food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Went for breakfast. Sat outside with my dog. Service not special nor is the food. If your looking for a dog friendly place, it's an average choice. Had the pancake breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    2
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coffee Shop in the Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This little coffee shop was a huge surprise! The menu was extensive with a broad selection of breakfast, lunch and dinner items. The service was diligent, friendly and courteous. The meal was tasty and satisfying. Will definitely go back for more!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Family Restaurant We have found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great homemade soups, very reasonably priced, very diverse menu, with daily specials. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Legitimate Local and Friendly Spot for Breakfast - OK Food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

There aren’t too many brunch / breakfast options in Big Bear Lake - for that matter it’s a small town there aren’t too many of any kind of options - but you might find yourself thee anyway taking advantage of the lake, the alpine slide, the clean air etc. - which means you probably will need a decent place to put food in your mouth to start the day. The Alpine Country Coffee Shop will take care of that for you. We settled here on Easter Sunday after a small amount of research ruled out the giant pancakes at Grizzly Manner and the “German Specialities” (which we read as potato pancakes...) as both of those restaurants we’re closed.

I ordered an egg-white omelette with cheese and onions. It was the perfect size and they did the egg whites just right. (If you’re an egg white eater you know how easy it is to get an order of those cooked by someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing so kudoes to the Alpine Country Coffee Shop for getting this right.

The hash browns though we’re a little undercooked and the biscuit which I had for the bread-side was also undercooked. That’s a step better than the fast food or chain diners who microwave their biscuits, but they advertise biscuits and gravy as a house specialty on their menu so would have been nice if that had been completely baked.

My wife had Huevos Rancheros with extra corn tortillas and she found it to be a good basic interpretation of the dish.

The coffee achieved the status of “drinkable.” Not the browned water that some places serve but not quite the bold and robust blends we prefer.

The staff was VERY friendly and the place had a very local feel - though not particularly nicely appointed it was cozy and a legitimate local dining experience. We’d probably try one of the other restaurants assuming we weren’t there on a national holiday, but if they weren’t an option, the Alpine Country Coffee Shop would do the job.

For more reviews from a vegetarian perspective visit Rick and Addie's Vegetarian Food Blog: http://poetrysuperhighway.com/vfb

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatay, ca.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great weekday special breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

For $4.99 we had a full breakfast on a Tuesday AM. This is a nice clean cozy place with a polite staff. The food was good and prices even better.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Country Coffee Shop also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Fawnskin, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Alpine Country Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Country Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.